Prof. Dr Thomas Pertsch examines nanostructured surfaces under a near-field microscope.

Top-level research with nanolight

Extremely thin metal tips and optical fibres analyse the finest structures
Prof. Dr Thomas Pertsch examines nanostructured surfaces under a near-field microscope.
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)

A ›Turningtable‹ for nanomaterials: Teams of researchers from the fields of chemistry and physics are developing ultra-sharp metal tips and optical fibres to scan and analyse the finest surface structures. When combined with intense laser light, the metal tips become super-focusing nanolights that are able to detect various features of surface structures, such as their spatial dimensions, chemical composition and optical properties.

By Ute Schönfelder

The research teams directed by Prof. Dr Volker Deckert and Prof. Dr Thomas Pertsch are investigating light-matter interactions using a high-resolution optical method that incorporates nonlinear optical effects within the established principle of scanning probe microscopy. »To put it simply, a scanning probe microscope works like a Turntable,« explains Thomas Pertsch. A tiny metal tip scans the surface of the material sample and transmits information about its topography to a detector via a moving arm. »This method is so sensitive that metal surfaces can be resolved down to individual atoms in the metal lattice,« says Pertsch.

But that’s not sensitive enough for the physicists… As part of a collaborative project, the researchers are combining scanning probe microscopy with optical methods to obtain information on the optical and chemical properties of samples in addition to their surface structure. Volker Deckert and Thomas Pertsch have each been pursuing different approaches, which will be combined into a common measurement method at the ›NOA‹ collaborative research centre.

Silver droplets make silicon needles more sensitive

Deckert and his colleagues from the Institute of Physical Chemistry are using tiny silicon needles to scan the samples. The needles themselves are around 50 micrometres long, which is less than the thickness of a sheet of paper. The tip of the needle that interacts with the sample is over 1,000 times smaller, measuring just five to ten nanometres in diameter. But even that’s not small – and therefore sensitive – enough… »The silicon needles are also coated with silver vapour, which is deposited on the silicon surface as tiny droplets,« explains Deckert. The individual silver droplets increase the effective needle point only insignificantly by around 10 nm, which roughly equates to the thickness of a cell membrane.

By preparing the needles in this way, the tiny probes are still able to scan details of the sample, revealing the smallest intricacies of its structures and defects. In addition, once irradiated with laser light and coupled to a Raman spectrometer, the light scattered by the needles can also be used to detect the surface structure and its properties.

The main objective of the researchers, however, is actually something else: »The concentration of high-intensity light particles in the very small volume of the metal needles causes nonlinear effects between the light and material,« says Deckert. The needle tips become a source of light, so to speak, locally concentrating the light particles so strongly that the sensitivity of the Raman spectroscopy process is significantly enhanced. Similar to the team directed by Jürgen Popp and Jer-Shing Huang, Deckert is using linear and nonlinear light-matter interactions to coherently bundle the Raman scattering excited by intense short-pulse lasers (›coherent anti-Stokes Raman scattering‹), enhancing the Raman signals as a result.

In a recent study published in cooperation with their US colleagues, the researchers from the University of Jena demonstrated the highly practical potential applications of these methods. They presented their results in ›Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences‹, showing that tip-enhanced Raman spectroscopy can be used to detect virus particles in clinical samples and even identify the respective virus type – all in the time of a few minutes. While the study focused on influenza and coxsackieviruses, the method would theoretically also be suitable for detecting other pathogens, such as SARS-CoV-2, emphasizes Volker Deckert.

Prof. Dr Volker Deckert sets up a laser to examine nanoscale surfaces and their nonlinear optical properties. Prof. Dr Volker Deckert sets up a laser to examine nanoscale surfaces and their nonlinear optical properties. Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)

Light particles concentrated by gold-plated fibres

When it comes to producing light-focusing needles for nonlinear optical investigations, Thomas Pertsch and his team at the Institute of Applied Physics are taking a different approach: »We’re using optical fibres coated with a thin layer of gold at the tip,« explains Pertsch. The fibre itself is a ›kitten’s whisker‹, measuring 125 micrometres in diameter – and therefore slightly thicker than a human hair. Its tip is approximately 50 micrometres long and tapers to a few nanometres. When laser light passes through the fibre at the appropriate wavelength, the light particles engage in a resonant interaction with the gold coating’s electrons at the gold-plated tip. This creates a ›surface plasmon‹ – the collective excitation of electrons along a metal surface – which interacts with the light particles. »The light focused at the tip of the needle is practically trapped there due to the interaction with the electrons – it can’t escape,« says Pertsch. The sample can be scanned with the shining needle as it interacts with the light. At the same time, the fibre returns the light reflected by the sample and transmits it to a detector.

Optical properties determined by nanostructures

These methods are providing the researchers with extensive and rich information about the samples examined. »The data allows us to draw conclusions about the optical properties produced by each sample structure,« says Deckert, who adds that their eventual target is to produce nanostructures in a targeted manner so that the materials have the exact optical properties required for a specific application.

The aim of the current research project at the ›NOA‹ collaborative research centre is to carry out basic research to establish the investigation methodology on well characterized reference materials. »Another key ingredient of our success is our close cooperation with research partners who are creating theoretical models of light-matter interactions,« emphasizes Thomas Pertsch. This is essential both for the development of nanoscale tips and the evaluation of nonlinear optical effects.

Here we can see a silver-plated silicon tip used to scan surfaces and materials. The metal tip significantly increases the sensitivity of Raman spectroscopy. Here we can see a silver-plated silicon tip used to scan surfaces and materials. The metal tip significantly increases the sensitivity of Raman spectroscopy. Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)



Information

Original-Publication:

Laser spectroscopic technique for direct identification of a single virus I: FASTER CARS, Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2020, DOI: 10.1073/pnas.2013169117

Contact:

Volker Deckert, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Phone
+49 3641 9-48347
Fax
+49 3641 9-48302
Room 248
Lessingstraße 10
07743 Jena
Thomas Pertsch, Prof. Dr
Head of Department
Phone
+49 3641 9-47560
Fax
+49 3641 9-47562
Abbe Center of Photonics, Room 305
Albert-Einstein-Straße 6
07745 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
Top of the page

Prof. Dr. Thomas Pertsch untersucht nanostrukturierte Oberflächen mit einem Nahfeldmikroskop.

Spitzenforschung mit Nanoleuchten

Extrem dünne Metallspitzen und optische Fasern analysieren feinste Strukturen
Prof. Dr. Thomas Pertsch untersucht nanostrukturierte Oberflächen mit einem Nahfeldmikroskop.
Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)

Ein »Plattenspieler« für Nanomaterialien: Forschungsteams aus Chemie und Physik entwickeln extrem dünne Metallspitzen und optische Fasern, mit denen sich feinste Oberflächenstrukturen abrastern und analysieren lassen. In Kombination mit intensivem Laserlicht werden die Metallspitzen zu superfokussierenden Nano­leuchten, die neben der räumlichen Auflösung von Oberflächenstrukturen zum Beispiel auch deren chemi­sche Zusammensetzung oder optische Eigenschaften detektieren.

Text: Ute Schönfelder

Die Wechselwirkung von Licht und Ma­terie untersuchen die Forschungsteams um Prof. Dr. Volker Deckert und Prof. Dr. Thomas Pertsch. Dafür nutzen sie ein hochauflösendes optisches Verfah­ren, das auf dem Prinzip der bereits etablierten Rastersondenmikroskopie basiert und nichtlineare optische Effekte einbezieht. »Ein Rastersondenmikros­kop funktioniert, vereinfacht gesagt, wie ein Plattenspieler«, erläutert Thomas Pertsch. Eine winzige Metallspitze ras­tert die Oberfläche der zu untersuchen­den Materialprobe ab und überträgt Informationen über deren Topografie über einen beweglichen Arm auf einen Detektor. »Diese Methode ist so emp­findlich, dass sich Metalloberflächen bis auf einzelne Atome im Metallgitter auf­lösen lassen«, so Pertsch.

Doch das ist den Physikern noch nicht empfindlich genug. In einem gemeinsa­men Projekt kombinieren die Forscher die Rastersondenmikroskopie mit opti­schen Verfahren, um neben der Oberflä­chenstruktur auch Informationen über die optischen und chemischen Eigen­schaften der zu untersuchenden Proben zu erhalten. Bisher verfolgen Volker Deckert und Thomas Pertsch dabei je­weils unterschiedliche Ansätze, die sie im Sonderforschungsbereich »NOA« zu einem gemeinsamen Messverfahren kombinieren wollen.

Silbertröpfchen machen Siliziumnadel empfindlicher

So nutzen Deckert und seine Kolle­ginnen und Kollegen vom Institut für Physikalische Chemie winzige Silizi­umnadeln, um die Proben abzurastern. Die Nadeln selbst sind etwa 50 Mikro­meter lang – weniger als ein Blatt Papier dick ist. Die Nadelspitze, die mit der Probe interagiert, ist aber noch mehr als 1 000 Mal kleiner, lediglich fünf bis zehn Nanometer misst sie im Durch­messer. Doch das ist immer noch nicht klein – und damit empfindlich – genug. »Zusätzlich wird die Siliziumnadel mit Silber bedampft, das sich in winzigen  Tröpfchen an der Siliziumoberfläche niederschlägt«, erläutert Deckert. Die einzelnen Silbertröpfchen vergrößern die effektive Nadelspitze nur unwesent­lich um etwa 10 nm, was etwa der Dicke einer Zellmembran entspricht.

Die so präparierte Nadel rastert nicht nur aufgrund ihrer winzigen Größe je­des noch so kleine Detail der Probe ab und deckt dabei Strukturen und Defek­te in allen Einzelheiten auf. Zusätzlich wird sie während des Messvorgangs mit Laserlicht bestrahlt und an ein Ra­man-Spektrometer gekoppelt. Das re­flektierte Licht der Nadel kann damit ebenfalls zur Detektion der Oberflä­chenstruktur und ihrer Eigenschaften herangezogen werden.

Hauptsächlich bezwecken die For­schenden damit aber etwas anderes: »Die Konzentration von Lichtteilchen mit hoher Intensität in dem sehr klei­nen Volumen der Metallnadel führt zu nichtlinearen Effekten zwischen Licht und Material«, sagt Deckert. Die Na­delspitze selbst wird dabei quasi zur Lichtquelle, die die Lichtteilchen lokal so stark konzentriert, dass sie dabei die Empfindlichkeit der Raman-Spektro­skopie deutlich erhöht. Wie das Team um Jürgen Popp und Jer-Shing Huang nutzt Deckert dabei sowohl lineare, als auch nichtlineare Wechsel­wirkungen zwischen Licht und Material aus, um das über intensive Kurzpulsla­ser angeregte Raman-Streulicht kohä­rent zu bündeln (»Coherent anti-Stokes Raman Scattering«; CARS), was die Ra­man-Signale verstärkt.

Dass sich diese Methoden ganz prak­tisch nutzen lassen, das konnten die Jenaer Forschenden gemeinsam mit US-amerikanischen Kollegen in einer kürzlich publizierten Studie zeigen. Im Fachmagazin »Proceedings of the Na­tional Academy of Sciences« präsentier­ten sie Messergebnisse, wonach sich in klinischen Proben mittels spitzenver­stärkter Raman-Spektroskopie nicht nur einzelne Viruspartikel nachweisen, sondern zugleich auch die jeweilige Vi­rusart identifizieren lassen – und das in­nerhalb weniger Minuten. Während in der vorgestellten Studie Influenza- und Coxsackie-Viren untersucht wurden, ist das Verfahren prinzipiell natürlich auch geeignet, um beispielsweise SARS-CoV-2 nachzuweisen, betont Volker De­ckert.

Prof. Dr. Volker Deckert justiert einen Laser zur Untersuchung nanoskaliger Oberflächen und ihrer nichtlinearen optischen Eigenschaften. Prof. Dr. Volker Deckert justiert einen Laser zur Untersuchung nanoskaliger Oberflächen und ihrer nichtlinearen optischen Eigenschaften. Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)

Vergoldete Fasern konzentrieren Lichtteilchen

Das Team um Thomas Pertsch im Ins­titut für Angewandte Physik verfolgt einen anderen Ansatz, um lichtfokus­sierende Nadeln für nichtlinear-op­tische Untersuchungen herzustellen. »Wir verwenden optische Fasern, die an der Spitze mit einer dünnen Schicht Gold umhüllt sind«, erklärt Pertsch. Die Faser selbst hat etwa »Haaresbreite« – sie misst 125 Mikrometer im Durch­messer und damit etwas mehr als ein menschliches Haar. Ihre Spitze besitzt etwa 50 Mikrometer Länge und läuft auf wenige Nanometer spitz zu. Wird durch die Faser Laserlicht entsprechen­der Wellenlänge geführt, kommt es an der vergoldeten Spitze zur resonanten Wechselwirkung der Lichtteilchen und der Elektronen des Goldüberzugs. Es entsteht ein sogenanntes Oberflächen­plasmon – die kollektive Anregung von Elektronen entlang der Metalloberflä­che – das mit den Lichtteilchen intera­giert. »Auf diese Weise können wir Licht an der Nadelspitze fokussieren,    das durch die Interaktion mit den Elek­tronen dort praktisch gefangen ist und sich nicht entfernen kann«, so Pertsch. Mit der leuchtenden Nadel lassen sich Proben abrastern, während das Licht mit der Probe wechselwirkt. Zugleich führt die Faser das von der Probe reflek­tierte Licht zurück und leitet es an einen Detektor weiter.

Nanostrukturen bestimmen die optischen Eigenschaften

Auf diese Weise erhalten die Forscher umfangreiche und vielfältige Informa­tionen über die untersuchten Proben. »Aus den detektierten Daten lassen sich Schlüsse ziehen, welche Strukturen der Probe welche optischen Eigenschaften erzeugen«, so Deckert. Ziel sei es, ir­gendwann Nanostrukturen gezielt so herstellen zu können, dass die Materia­lien genau die optischen Eigenschaften aufweisen, die man für eine konkrete Anwendung braucht.

Im aktuellen Forschungsprojekt im Son­derforschungsbereich »NOA« gehe es zunächst um Grundlagenforschung, die an gut charakterisierten Referenzma­terialien die Untersuchungsmethodik etablieren soll. »Entscheidend für den Erfolg dabei ist auch die enge Koopera­tion mit Forschungspartnern, die theo­retische Modellierungen von Licht-Ma­terie-Wechselwirkungen vornehmen«, betont Thomas Pertsch. Dies sei sowohl für die Entwicklung der Nanospitzen als auch für die Auswertung der nichtli­nearen optischen Effekte unerlässlich.

Blick auf eine versilberte Siliziumspitze zum Abtasten von Oberflächen und Material. Blick auf eine versilberte Siliziumspitze zum Abtasten von Oberflächen und Material. Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)



Information

Original-Publikation:

Laser spectroscopic technique for direct identification of a single virus I: FASTER CARS, Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2020, DOI: 10.1073/pnas.2013169117

Kontakt:

Volker Deckert, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Arbeitsgruppenleiter
Raum 248
Lessingstraße 10
07743 Jena
Abbe Center of Photonics, Raum 305
Albert-Einstein-Straße 6
07745 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang