All green plants living today can be traced back to a common ancestor that was already a green plant

Time travel through the evolution of plants

Geneticists reconstruct development of the diversity of rooted plants.
All green plants living today can be traced back to a common ancestor that was already a green plant
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)

The result of a mammoth project: As part of the »One Thousand Plant Transcriptome Initiative«, all active genes of over 1,000 plants have been analysed with unprecedented accuracy over a period of nine years. The gigantic set of data can now be used to identify crucial stages of development in the plants’ continuous evolution over more than a billion years.

How did terrestrial plants manage to leave their original habitat—the water—and grow ever taller on land, despite the Earth’s gravity, and eventually produce flowers, seeds, and fruit? In order to answer such questions, around 200 scientists from more than 130 international research institutions have used immense computing technology to analyse all active genes—the transcriptome—of more than 1,000 green algae, mosses, clubmosses, ferns, gymnosperms, and flowering plants. They have arranged the genes and gene families into phylogenetic trees, revealed family relationships within the plant kingdom, and published their results in the journal »Nature«. A research team from from the Friedrich Schiller University Jena is among the authors.

The duplication of genetic material has played an important role in the emergence of plant diversity and the development of new properties. In the study, the geneticists Prof. Dr Günter Theißen and Dr Lydia Gramzow from the University of Jena examined the point of emergence and duplication of certain genes that are responsible for the development of flowers. These »MADS box genes« are found in all plant families, albeit in different frequencies. »The most primitive ancestors of modern- day plants were aquatic green algae,« explains Prof. Theißen. »They did not have any flowers or seeds and only a very small amount of MADS box genes«. Over the course of time, these ancestors have evolved into today’s terrestrial plants, including mosses, ferns and seed plants. The growing diversity of plant species has also led to an increase in the number and variety of MADS box genes. As MADS box genes control important processes in the development of plants, there is a direct correlation between the number and diversity of these genes and the complexity and diversity of plant structures.

Expansive gene duplication

It has long been known that modern-day plants have different amounts of MADS box genes in their genetic material. While simple mosses or club mosses have fewer than 50 copies on average, 50 to 300 different MADS box genes can be found in the genome of more developed seed plants. »One might assume that gene duplication is simply a result of the evolution of plants towards higher complexity,« says Dr Lydia Gramzow. However, the researcher examined almost 30,000 sequences during the latest study and was able to refute this assumption. »We have found the existence of MADS box genes to be the result of separate gene duplications,« says Gramzow. As reflected by the phylogenetic tree created by the researchers in Jena, MADS box genes (e.g. in ferns and seed plants) have multiplied and developed separately. »Both groups of plants have a common ancestor,« explains Prof. Theißen. From this, modern-day ferns have evolved along one line and seed plants have evolved along another. »MADS box genes have duplicated independently and with differing degrees of frequency along both lines. We suspect there were four different genes present in the last common ancestor of modern-day ferns and seed plants around 380 million years ago«.

 

Dr Lydia Gramzow and Prof. Dr Günter Theißen from the Matthias Schleiden Institute at the Friedrich Schiller University are part of the international research consortium that has examined the evolution of plant diversity more extensively than ever before. Dr Lydia Gramzow and Prof. Dr Günter Theißen from the Matthias Schleiden Institute at the Friedrich Schiller University are part of the international research consortium that has examined the evolution of plant diversity more extensively than ever before. Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)

From their results, the geneticists conclude that similar processes may have also occurred in other gene families. »This reveals that evolution is not necessarily a one-dimensional and linear process; the same stage of evolutionary complexity is sometimesreached in different ways,« concludes Prof. Theißen.

Less is sometimes more

The study also shows that evolution does not necessarily result in more complex forms of life. »Reduction clearly proves to be an evolutionary advantage at times—this phenomenon is very common in many parasites,« says Theißen. The genetic data that has now been published proves that all modern- day bryophytes are more closely related to one another than to any other group of plants. This had been one of the most contentious issues concerning the evolution of terrestrial plants. The appearance of liverworts, which seem highly primitive compared to mosses, is probably due to subsequent simplifications of their form.

By Ute Schönfelder

Information

Original-publication: One thousand plant transcriptomes and the phylogenomics of green plants. Nature (2019), DOI: 10.1038/s41586-019-1693-2

Contact:

Günter Theißen, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Phone
+49 3641 9-49550
Fax
+49 3641 9-49552
Room 321
Philosophenweg 12
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Alle heutigen grünen Pflanzen gehen auf einen gemeinsamen Vorfahren zurück.

Zeitreise durch die Evolution

Genetiker rekonstruieren, wie sich die Vielfalt der Landpflanzen entwickelt hat
Alle heutigen grünen Pflanzen gehen auf einen gemeinsamen Vorfahren zurück.
Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)

Es ist das Ergebnis eines Mammutprojekts: Die »One Thousand Plant Transcriptome Initiative« hat über neun Jahre sämtliche aktiven Gene von mehr als 1.000 Pflanzen mit bisher unerreichter Genauigkeit analysiert. Aus dem gigantischen Datensatz lassen sich nun entscheidende Entwicklungsschritte der Pflanzen in ihrer mehr als eine Milliarde Jahre andauernden Evolution ablesen.

Wie ist es den ersten Landpflanzen gelungen, ihren ursprünglichen Lebensraum - das Wasser - zu verlassen und an Land, der Schwerkraft der Erde trotzend, immer weiter in die Höhe zu wachsen, und schließlich Blüten, Samen und Früchte zu produzieren? Um solche Fragen zu beantworten, haben rund 200 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler von mehr als 130 Forschungseinrichtungen aus aller Welt sämtliche aktiven Gene - das Transkriptom - von mehr als 1 000 Grünalgen, Moosen, Bärlappgewächsen, Farnen, Nacktsamern und Blütenpflanzen mittels enormer Rechentechnik analysiert. Die Gene und Genfamilien haben sie in Stammbäumen angeordnet, die Verwandtschaftsbeziehungen innerhalb des Pflanzenreiches entschlüsselt und ihre Ergebnisse im Fachmagazin »Nature« publiziert. Unter den Autoren ist auch ein Team der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena.

Eine wichtige Rolle bei der Entstehung der pflanzlichen Vielfalt und der Entwicklung neuer Eigenschaften hat die Vervielfältigung von genetischem Material gespielt. Die Jenaer Genetiker Prof. Dr. Günter Theißen und Dr. Lydia Gramzow haben in der Studie untersucht, wann bestimmte Gene, die für die Blütenentwicklung von Pflanzen verantwortlich sind, entstanden sind und sich im Laufe der Evolution vervielfältigt haben. Diese sogenannten MADS-Box-Gene kommen in allen Pflanzenfamilien vor, allerdings in unterschiedlicher Häufigkeit. »Die ursprünglichsten Vorfahren der heutigen Pflanzen waren im Wasser lebende Grünalgen«, erläutert Prof. Theißen. »Diese hatten weder Blüten noch Samen und auch nur ganz wenige MADS-Box-Gene.« Im Laufe der Evolution sind aus diesen Urahnen die heutigen Landpflanzen hervorgegangen, darunter Moose, Farne und Samenpflanzen. Mit der wachsenden Vielfalt an Pflanzenarten sind auch Zahl und Vielfalt der MADS-Box-Gene gewachsen. Da MADS-Box-Gene wichtige Entwicklungsprozesse von Pflanzen steuern, besteht ein direkter Zusammenhang zwischen der Anzahl und Diversität dieser Gene und der Komplexität und Vielfalt pflanzlicher Strukturen.

Expansive Genvermehrung

Dass die heute lebenden Pflanzen über unterschiedlich viele MADS-Box-Gene in ihrem Erbgut verfügen, war bereits länger bekannt. Während einfache Moose oder Bärlappgewächse im Schnitt weniger als zwanzig Kopien aufweisen, sind im Genom höher entwickelter Samenpflanzen 50 bis 300 verschiedene MADS-Box-Gene zu finden. »Man könnte daraus schließen, dass die Genvervielfältigung einfach eine Folge der Höherentwicklung der Pflanzen ist«, sagt Dr. Lydia Gramzow. Die Wissenschaftlerin hat im Rahmen der aktuellen Studie fast 30 000 Sequenzen untersucht und konnte diese Annahme widerlegen. »Wir haben herausgefunden, dass die Ausstattung mit MADS-Box-Genen das Ergebnis unabhängiger Genvervielfältigungen ist«, sagt Gramzow. Wie der von den Jenaer Forschern erstellte Stammbaum zeigt, haben sich die MADS-Box-Gene etwa in Farnen und Samenpflanzen jeweils separat vervielfältigt und weiterentwickelt. »Beide Pflanzengruppen gehen auf einen gemeinsamen Vorfahren zurück«, erläutert Prof. Theißen. Aus diesem haben sich in einer Linie die heutigen Farne und in einer anderen Linie die Samenpflanzen entwickelt. »In beiden Linien haben sich MADS-Box-Gene unabhängig und unterschiedlich oft verdoppelt. Wir vermuten, dass es vier verschiedene Urgene gab, die vor etwa 380 Millionen Jahren im letzten gemeinsamen Vorfahren der heute lebenden Farne und Samenpflanzen vorhanden waren

 

Dr. Lydia Gramzow und Prof. Dr. Günter Theißen vom Matthias-Schleiden-Institut der Universität Jena. Dr. Lydia Gramzow und Prof. Dr. Günter Theißen vom Matthias-Schleiden-Institut der Universität Jena. Foto: Jan-Peter Kasper (Universität Jena)

Aus ihren Ergebnissen schlussfolgern die Genetiker, dass ähnliche Prozesse auch in anderen Genfamilien passiert sein könnten. »Wir lernen daraus zum einen, dass die Evolution nicht unbedingt eindimensional linear verläuft, sondern dass gleiche Entwicklungsstufen manchmal auf unterschiedlichen Wegen erreicht werden«, fasst Prof. Theißen zusammen.

Weniger ist manchmal mehr

Zum anderen zeige die Studie auch, dass Evolution nicht zwangsläufig komplexere Lebensformen hervorbringt. »Manchmal ist offenbar Reduktion ein evolutionärer Vorteil - ein Phänomen, dass z. B. von vielen Parasiten bereits gut bekannt ist«, sagt Theißen. So belegten die nun veröffentlichten genetischen Daten, dass alle heute lebenden Moose näher miteinander verwandt sind als mit jeder anderen Pflanzengruppe - das war bislang eine der umstrittensten offenen Fragen der Evolution der Landpflanzen. Die im Vergleich zu den Laubmoo­sen sehr ursprünglich er­schei­nenden Lebermoose verdanken ihr Aussehen vermutlich nachträglichen Vereinfachungen ihrer Gestalt.

Text: Ute Schönfelder

Information

Original-Publikation: One thousand plant transcriptomes and the phylogenomics of green plants. Nature (2019), DOI: 10.1038/s41586-019-1693-2

Kontakt:

Günter Theißen, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Telefon
+49 3641 9-49550
Fax
+49 3641 9-49552
Raum 321
Philosophenweg 12
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang