The ›world soul‹ in Jena

This year marks the 200th anniversary of Napoleon Bonaparte’s death. The General and Emperor of the French left his mark all over Europe—even in Jena. After being revered by philosopher Friedrich Hegel in the autumn of 1806, dissident voices soon arose at the university during French rule. We take a look back at that era​.
The university archives contain this decree, issued on 12 February 1809 by Imperial Domain Inspector Louis Alexandre Gentil, stating that the ›Lindenstück‹ was to be donated to the university by Napoleon and outlining the finer details of the transaction. The university archives contain this decree, issued on 12 February 1809 by Imperial Domain Inspector Louis Alexandre Gentil, stating that the ›Lindenstück‹ was to be donated to the university by Napoleon and outlining the finer details of the transaction. Image: Uniarchiv/Uni Jena

By Stefan Laudien

Emperor of the French, Napoleon Bonaparte, rode through Jena on horseback on 13 October 1806. The next day, it was time for the weapons to do the talking during the Battle of Jena and the Battle of Auerstedt. However, the scholars at the ›Salana‹ university hardly took any notice of the infamous man. There is a simple reason for this: It was a mid-term break and most of the students were out of town.

However, one of their professors met the emperor and was seriously impressed. The philosopher Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel saw Napoleon on Johannisstraße: »I saw the emperor—this world soul—ride out through the city to reconnoitre; it truly is a wonderful sensation to see such an individual who is concentrating here on one point as he sits astride his horse, encompassing and dominating the world.« While the emperor was inflicting a serious defeat on the larger armies of Prussia and Saxony the next morning, heralding the end of old Prussia, Hegel was focusing on his manuscript. He had just revised the final pages of ›The Phenomenology of Spirit‹ and sent the book to Bamberg. Woe betide if the pages didn’t arrive—there was no duplicate.

The university in Jena was largely spared from the warfare in the autumn of 1806; looting and fire resulted in 4,005 thalers of lost assets—plus 8,722 thalers in private assets. However, teaching could start again on 3 November by virtue of an imperial letter of protection. As compensation for the lost assets, the university was given a plot of land: the ›Lindenstück‹ in Blankenhain. An honorary doctorate was also awarded to five Frenchmen: medics who had been involved in the war.

Teaching at the university was affected by French rule. From the winter semester of 1808 onwards, for example, the curriculum included lectures on the ›Napoleonic Code‹. There were two objectives behind this: On the one hand, the university had to remain appealing to students whose homeland was now part of France; on the other hand, the law graduates in Saxony-Weimar-Eisenach had to be familiar with the legal framework in case it ever entered into force in the local territory. After the French Revolution, a bourgeois interpretation of the law had even caught on amongst Jena’s legal scholars.

However, resistance was also starting to emerge against the foreign rulers in Jena, including the historian Heinrich Luden. His lecture entitled ›On the History of the Fatherland‹ put the focus on the Nation, and his anonymous work entitled ›Views of the Confederation of the Rhine‹ was an anti-Napoleonic manifesto. However, the road to the German nation could ill afford to return the people to the old feudal state.

As for Napoleon, he basked in a long string of victories from his stronghold in Jena before his Grande Armée finally suffered a bitter loss at the hands of the Russian Army in 1812. The Germans, Swedes, Austrians and Russians inflicted another defeat on the emperor at the ›Battle of the Nations‹ near Leipzig in 1813. The Corsican was banished; when he made his return, he was definitively beaten at Waterloo in 1815. Napoleon Bonaparte died on the island of St. Helena on 5 May 1821, 200 years ago.

 

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
Top of the page

Die "Weltseele" in Jena

Vor 200 Jahren ist Napoleon Bonaparte gestorben. Der General und Kaiser der Franzosen hat Spuren quer durch Europa hinterlassen – so auch in Jena. Vom Philosophen Friedrich Hegel im Herbst 1806 noch ehrfürchtig bewundert, formierte sich an der Universität während der französischen Herrschaft bald Widerstand. An diese Zeit erinnert das Kalenderblatt.
Im Universitätsarchiv befindet sich dieses Dekret des kaiserlichen Domaineninspektors Louis Alexandre Gentil vom 12. Februar 1809, das der Universität die Schenkung des »Lindenstücks« durch Napoleon mitteilt und die näheren Modalitäten bestimmt. Im Universitätsarchiv befindet sich dieses Dekret des kaiserlichen Domaineninspektors Louis Alexandre Gentil vom 12. Februar 1809, das der Universität die Schenkung des »Lindenstücks« durch Napoleon mitteilt und die näheren Modalitäten bestimmt. Foto: Uniarchiv/Uni Jena

Text: Stefan Laudien

Hoch zu Pferde reitet der Kai­ser der Franzosen, Napoleon Bonaparte, am 13. Oktober 1806 durch Jena. Am nächsten Tag sollen die Waffen sprechen, die Schlacht von Jena und Au­erstedt steht unmittelbar bevor. Doch die Studiosi der Salana nehmen kaum Notiz von dem berühmten Mann. Der schlichte Grund: Noch ist Semesterpause, es sind kaum Studenten in der Stadt.

Einer ihrer Professoren jedoch begegnet dem Kaiser und ist schwer beeindruckt. Der Philo­soph Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel sieht Napoleon in der Johannisstraße: »den Kaiser – diese Weltseele – sah ich durch die Stadt zum Rekognoszieren hinausreiten; – es ist in der Tat eine wunderbare Empfindung, ein solches Individuum zu se­hen, das hier auf einen Punkt konzentriert, auf einem Pferde sitzend, über die Welt übergreift und sie beherrscht.« Während der Kaiser am nächsten Morgen dem zahlenmäßig überlegenen Heer der Preußen und Sachsen eine empfindliche Niederlage beibringt und das Ende des al­ten Preußens einläutet, gilt He­gels Sorge seinem Manuskript. Gerade hat er die letzten Seiten seiner »Phänomenologie des Geistes« über­arbeitet und das Buch gen Bamberg geschickt. Wehe, wenn die Seiten dort nicht ankommen; eine Zweitschrift exis­tiert nicht.

Die Jenaer Universität bleibt von den kriegerischen Auseinandersetzungen im Herbst 1806 weitgehend verschont. Durch Plünderung und Brand geht Ver­mögen in Höhe von 4 005 Talern verlo­ren hinzu kommen noch 8 722 Taler an Privatvermögen. Dank eines kaiserli­chen Schutzbriefes kann der Lehrbetrieb bereits am 3. November wieder aufge­nommen werden. Als Entschädigung für die Verluste bekommt die Universi­tät ein Stück Land, das »Lindenstück« in der Blankenhainer Flur, geschenkt. Fünf Franzosen erhalten zudem die Ehren­doktorwürde. Es handelt sich um Medi­ziner, die im Kriegseinsatz waren.

Die Herrschaft der Franzosen wirkt sich auf den Lehrbetrieb der Universität aus. So werden vom Wintersemester 1808 an Vorlesungen über den »Code Napoléon« gehalten. Zwei Zie­le werden damit verfolgt: Zum einen bleibt die Universität für jene Studenten attraktiv, deren Heimat nun zu Frankreich ge­hört, zum anderen werden auch in Sachsen-Weimar-Eisenach Juristen benötigt, die sich mit dem Gesetzeswerk auskennen, falls es im hiesigen Territorium Gültigkeit erlangt. Das bürgerli­che Rechtsverständnis nach der Französischen Revolution fällt auch bei Jenaer Rechtsgelehrten auf fruchtbaren Boden.

Doch in Jena formiert sich auch Widerstand gegen die Fremd­herrschaft: Vornehmlich der Historiker Heinrich Luden exponiert sich. Seine Vorle­sung »Zur vaterländischen Ge­schichte« rückt die Nation in den Blickpunkt, seine anonym erschienenen »Ansichten des Rheinbundes« sind eine anti­napoleonische Kampfschrift. Der Weg zur deutschen Nation soll aber keineswegs zurück zum alten Feudalstaat führen.

Napoleon selbst eilt von Jena aus von Sieg zu Sieg, ehe seine Grande Armée im Jahr 1812 in Russland eine bit­tere Niederlage erleidet. Einen weiteren Rückschlag fügen Deutsche, Schweden, Österreicher und Russen dem Kaiser 1813 in der »Völkerschlacht« bei Leip­zig zu. Der Korse wird verbannt, kehrt zurück und wird 1815 bei Waterloo end­gültig geschlagen. Auf St. Helena stirbt Napoleon Bonaparte am 5. Mai 1821, vor 200 Jahren.

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang