Prof. Dr Gerhard Paulus, doctoral candidate Felix Wiesner and Dr Silvio Fuchs in a laser laboratory.

A closer look inside semiconductors

How coherent short-wave UV light radiates materials non-destructively
Prof. Dr Gerhard Paulus, doctoral candidate Felix Wiesner and Dr Silvio Fuchs in a laser laboratory.
Image: Jens Meyer (University of Jena)

Although XUV light can be used to image nanoscale structures, generating coherent light with a wavelength of only a few tens of nanometres has so far only been achieved in major research facilities. A team of researchers at the University of Jena are using nonlinear optical effects to generate such radiation – at a conventional laser laboratory – to non-destructively determine the inner structure of materials and their chemical composition with nanoscale precision.


By Ute Schönfelder

Images provide insights. What we can observe with our own eyes enables us to understand. Constantly expanding the field of perception into dimensions that are initially hidden from the naked eye, drives science forward. Today, increasingly powerful microscopes let us see into the cells and tissues of living organisms, into the world of microorganisms as well as into inanimate nature. But even the best microscopes have their limits. »To be able to observe structures and processes down to the nanoscale level and below, we need new methods and technologies,« says Dr Silvio Fuchs from the Institute of Optics and Quantum Electronics at the University of Jena. This applies in particular to technological areas such as materials research or data processing. »These days, electronic components, computer chips or circuits are becoming increasingly small,« adds Fuchs. Together with colleagues, he has now developed a method that makes it possible to display and study such tiny, complex structures and even ›see inside‹ them without destroying them.

The researchers recently presented their method—coherence tomography with extreme ultraviolet light (XCT)—in ›Optica‹, where they demonstrated its potential applications in research and other areas.

Light penetrates the sample and is reflected by internal structures

The imaging procedure is based on optical coherence tomography (OCT), which has been established in ophthalmology for a number of years, explains doctoral candidate Felix Wiesner, the lead author of the study. »These devices have been developed to examine the retina of the eye non-invasively, layer by layer, to create 3-dimensional images.« At the ophthalmologist, OCT uses infrared light to illuminate the retina. The radiation is selected in such a way that the tissue to be examined does not absorb it too strongly and it can be reflected by the inner structures. However, the physicists in Jena use extremely short-wave UV light instead of long-wave infrared light for their OCT. »This is due to the size of the structures we want to image,« says Felix Wiesner. In order to look into semiconductor materials with structure sizes of only a few nanometres, light with a wavelength of only a few nanometres is needed.

Coherent XUV light created by nonlinear optical effect

Generating such extremely short-wave UV light (XUV) used to be a challenge and was almost only possible in large-scale research facilities. Jena physicists, however, generate broadband XUV in an ordinary laboratory and use what are called high harmonics for this purpose (see box below). This is radiation that is produced by the interaction of laser light with a medium and it has a frequency many times that of the original light. The higher the harmonic order, the shorter the resulting wavelength. »In this way, we generate light with a wavelength of between 10 and 80 nanometres using infrared lasers,« explains Prof. Gerhard Paulus, Professor of Nonlinear Optics at the University of Jena. »Like the irradiated laser light, the resulting broadband XUV light is also coherent, which means that it has laser-like properties

In their experiments, the physicists exposed nanoscopic layer structures in silicon to the coherent XUV radiation and analysed the reflected light. The silicon samples contained thin layers of other metals, such as titanium or silver, at different depths. Because these materials have different reflective properties from the silicon, they can be detected in the reflected radiation. The method is so sensitive that not only can the deep structure of the tiny samples be displayed with nanometre accuracy, but—due to the differing reflective behaviour—the chemical composition of the samples can also be determined precisely and, above all, in a non-destructive manner. »That’s what makes coherence tomography an interesting application for inspecting semiconductors, solar cells or multilayer optical components,« says Paulus. It could be used for quality control in the manufacturing process of such nanomaterials, to detect internal defects or chemical impurities.

High harmonics

The term ›harmonic‹ is used in physics to refer to an oscillation whose frequency is an integer multiple of the fundamental frequency. In music, harmonics appear as overtones. However, harmonics can also be formed by light and other electromagnetic waves. In nonlinear optics, the term »high harmonics« is used to refer to light waves whose frequency is approximately 10 times that of the original laser frequency or greater.

In order to generate high harmonics, extremely intense laser light is required: Laser pulses with an intensity of 1014 W/cm2 (one hundred trillion watts per square centimetre) are concentrated on matter (diluted gas). The electrical field strength of these pulses is so great that they tear the electrons out of their shell. As the direction of the electrical field in a light wave switches back one trillion times a second, however, the electrons are accelerated back to their original atom just as often. This is where they give off their kinetic energy in the form of harmonic light waves.

 

 

Information

Original-Publication:

Material-specific imaging of nanolayers using extreme ultraviolet coherence tomography, Optica (2021), DOI: 10.1364/ OPTICA.412036

Contact:

Silvio Fuchs, Dr
Phone
+49 3641 9-47629
Room 106
Helmholtzweg 4
07743 Jena
Gerhard G. Paulus, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Phone
+49 3641 9-47200
Fax
+49 3641 9-47202
Room 306
Max-Wien-Platz 1
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
Top of the page

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Paulus, Doktorand Felix Wiesner und Dr. Silvio Fuchs (v. l.) in einem Laserlabor.

Geschärfter Blick ins Innere von Halbleitern

Wie kohärentes kurzwelliges UV-Licht Materialien zerstörungsfrei durchleuchtet
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Paulus, Doktorand Felix Wiesner und Dr. Silvio Fuchs (v. l.) in einem Laserlabor.
Foto: Jens Meyer (Universität Jena)

Mit extrem kurzwelligem UV-Licht lassen sich nanometerkleine Strukturen abbilden. Doch kohärentes Licht mit einer Wellenlänge von wenigen zehn Nanometern zu erzeugen, war bislang fast nur in Großforschungs­anlagen möglich. Ein Jenaer Forschungsteam nutzt nichtlinear optische Effekte, um solche Strahlung zu erzeugen – und das in einem gewöhnlichen Laserlabor. Damit lassen sich zerstörungsfrei und nanometerge­nau innere Strukturen in Materialien sowie ihre chemische Zusammensetzung bestimmen.


Text: Ute Schönfelder

Bilder liefern Erkenntnisse. Was wir mit unseren eigenen Augen beobachten können, lässt uns verstehen. Das Blick­feld stetig zu erweitern, auch in Dimen­sionen, die dem bloßen Auge zunächst verborgen sind, treibt die Wissenschaft voran: Immer leistungsfähigere Mikroskope ermöglichen heute Einblicke in Zellen und Gewebe von Lebewesen, in die Welt der Mikroorganismen ebenso wie in die unbelebte Natur. Doch auch die besten Mikroskope haben ihre Gren­zen. »Um Strukturen und Prozesse bis auf nanoskalige Ebene und darunter be­obachten zu können, brauchen wir neue Methoden und Technologien«, sagt Dr. Silvio Fuchs vom Institut für Optik und Quantenelektronik. Das gelte insbeson­dere für technologische Bereiche wie die Materialforschung oder die Datenverar­beitung. »Elektronische Bauteile, Com­puterchips oder Schaltkreise werden heute immer kleiner«, so Fuchs weiter. Gemeinsam mit Kolleginnen und Kolle­gen hat er jetzt eine Methode weiterent­wickelt, die es ermöglicht, solche winzi­gen, komplexen Strukturen abzubilden und zu untersuchen und dabei sogar zerstörungsfrei in diese »hineinsehen« zu können.

Im Fachmagazin »Optica« haben die Forschenden ihre Methode – die Kohä­renztomographie mit extrem-ultravi­olettem Licht (kurz XCT) – jüngst vor­gestellt und ihr Potenzial für Forschung und Anwendung aufgezeigt.

Licht dringt in die Probe ein und wird an inneren Strukturen reflektiert

Ausgangspunkt für das Bildgebungs­verfahren ist die sogenannte Optische Kohärenztomographie (OCT), wie sie seit einigen Jahren in der Augenmedi­zin etabliert ist, erläutert Doktorand Felix Wiesner, der Erstautor der Studie. »Diese Geräte sind entwickelt worden, um die Netzhaut im Auge nichtinvasiv Schicht für Schicht untersuchen zu kön­nen und so 3-dimensionale Abbildun­gen zu erstellen.« Bei einem OCT beim Augenarzt wird die Netzhaut mit infrarotem Licht beleuchtet. Die Strahlung ist dabei so gewählt, dass sie vom zu untersuchenden Gewebe nicht zu stark absorbiert und an den inneren Struktu­ren reflektiert werden kann. Die Jenaer Physiker nutzen für ihr OCT statt lang­welligem Infrarot- aber extrem kurzwel­liges UV-Licht. »Das liegt an der Größe der Strukturen, die wir abbilden wol­len«, sagt Felix Wiesner. Um in Halblei­termaterialien mit Strukturgrößen von wenigen Nanometern hineinschauen zu können, braucht es Licht mit einer Wellenlänge von ebenfalls nur wenigen Nanometern.

Nichtlinear optischer Effekt erzeugt kohärentes XUV-Licht

Solch extrem kurzwelliges UV-Licht (XUV) zu erzeugen, war bislang eine Herausforderung und fast ausschließ­lich in Großforschungsanlagen möglich. Die Jenaer Physiker erzeugen breitban­diges XUV aber in einem gewöhnlichen Labor und nutzen dafür sogenannte Hohe Harmonische (siehe Kasten oben). Dabei handelt es sich um Strahlung, die durch Wechselwirkung von Laserlicht mit einem Medium entsteht und ein Vielfaches der Frequenz des ursprüng­lichen Lichtes aufweist. Je höher die Harmonischenordnung – umso kürzer die resultierende Wellenlänge. »Wir er­zeugen so mit infraroten Lasern Licht mit einer Wellenlänge zwischen 10 bis 80 Nanometern«, erklärt Prof. Dr. Ger­hard Paulus. »Wie das eingestrahlte Laserlicht ist auch das resultierende breitbandige XUV-Licht kohärent, hat also laserartige Eigenschaften«, macht der Professor für Nichtlineare Optik der Universität Jena deutlich.

In der veröffentlichten Arbeit haben die Physiker nanoskopische Schichtstruk­turen in Silizium mit der kohärenten XUV-Strahlung beleuchtet und das re­flektierte Licht analysiert. Die Silizium­proben enthielten in unterschiedlicher Tiefe dünne Schichten anderer Metalle wie Titan oder Silber. Da diese Materi­alien andere Reflexionseigenschaften aufweisen als das Silizium, lassen sich diese in der reflektierten Strahlung nachweisen. Die Methode ist dabei so empfindlich, dass damit nicht nur nano­metergenau die Tiefenstruktur der win­zigen Proben abgebildet werden kann, sondern – über das unterschiedliche Re­flexionsverhalten – auch die chemische Zusammensetzung der Proben exakt und vor allem zerstörungsfrei bestimmt werden kann. »Das macht eine Anwen­dung der Kohärenz-Tomographie zur Inspektion von Halbleitern, Solarzellen oder mehrschichtigen optischen Bauele­menten interessant«, unterstreicht Pau­lus. Sie ließe sich zur Qualitätskontrolle im Herstellungsprozess solcher Nano­materialien einsetzen, um interne De­fekte oder chemische Verunreinigungen aufzuspüren.

Hohe Harmonische

Die Bezeichnung Harmonische steht in der Physik für eine Schwingung, deren Frequenz ein ganzzahliges Vielfaches einer Grundfrequenz ist. Harmonische kommen in der Musik als Ober­töne vor. Aber auch Licht und andere elektromagnetische Wellen können Harmonische ausbil­den. Von Hohen Harmonischen spricht man in der nichtlinearen Optik bei Lichtwellen ab der ca. 10-fachen Frequenz der ursprünglichen Laserfrequenz. 

Um Hohe Harmonische zu erzeugen, bedarf es extrem intensiven Laserlichts: Laserpulse mit Intensitäten von 1014 W/cm2 (Hundert Billionen Watt pro Quadratzentimeter) werden auf Materie (verdünntes Gas) fokussiert. Die elektrische Feldstärke dieser Pulse ist dabei so groß, dass sie die Elektronen aus der Atomhülle herausreißen. Da sich in einer Lichtwelle die Richtung des elek­trischen Feldes jedoch eine Billion Mal pro Sekunde umkehrt, werden die Elektronen genau so oft auch wieder zum Ursprungsatom zurückbeschleunigt. Dort geben sie ihre Bewegungsenergie in Form von harmonischen Lichtwellen ab.

 

 

Information

Original-Publikation:

Material-specific imaging of nanolayers using extreme ultraviolet coherence tomography, Optica (2021), DOI: 10.1364/ OPTICA.412036

Kontakt:

Silvio Fuchs, Dr.
auch HI Jena - Mitarbeiter
Raum 106
Helmholtzweg 4
07743 Jena
Gerhard G. Paulus, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Raum 306
Max-Wien-Platz 1
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang