The closest exoplanet known, Proxima Centauri b, also belongs to a multiple star system. Artist’s impression (ESO/M. Kornmesser)

Distant worlds under many suns

Astrophysicist analyses multiple star system with exoplanets.
The closest exoplanet known, Proxima Centauri b, also belongs to a multiple star system....
Image: ESO/M. Kornmesser

Is the Earth the only habitable planet in the universe, or are there other places out there that are capable of supporting life? And if there are, what might they look like? In order to answer these fundamental questions, scientists are searching for exoplanets, i.e. planets outside our solar system that orbit other stars. A study by Dr Markus Mugrauer, astrophysicist at the University of Jena, shows that the Sun rises several times in many of these distant worlds.

More than 4,000 exoplanets have been found so far. Most of them orbit single stars, much like the Earth orbits our Sun. How ever, astrophysicist Dr Markus Mugrauer has now discovered numerous multiple star systems with exoplanets. In other words, these exoplanets orbit one of several »suns«.

Precise data supplied by the Gaia space observatory

»Multiple star systems are very common in our Milky Way,« explains Mugrauer. »If such systems include planets, they are of particular interest to astrophysicists, because their planetary systems can differ from our solar system in fundamental ways«. To find out more about these differences, Mugrauer scanned more than 1,300 host stars—where exoplanets have been found—in search of companion stars. For this purpose, he accessed the precise observational data supplied by the Gaia space observatory, which is operated by the European Space Agency (photo on p. 5). In this way, he detected about 200 companion stars to exoplanet host stars that are up to 1,600 light years away from the Sun.

With the Gaia data, Mugrauer was able to characterize the newly discovered companion stars and their systems in detail. He found that there are both, close systems with separations of only 20 astronomical units (au)—which, in our solar sys­tem, roughly corresponds to the distance between the Sun and Uranus—as well as systems in which the stars are separated by more than 9,000 au.

The companion stars also vary in terms of their mass, temper­ature, and stage of evolution. The heaviest among them weigh 1.5 times more than our Sun, while the lightest have just under one tenth of our Sun’s mass. Most of the companion stars are low­mass, cool dwarf stars that glow faintly red. However, eight white dwarfs were also identified amongst the faint companions. A white dwarf is the burnt­out core of a sun­like star, which is only about as big as our Earth, but half as massive as our Sun. These observations show that exoplan­ets can indeed survive the final evolutionary stage of a nearby sun­like star.

Double, triple and quadruple star systems with exoplanets

While the majority of the star systems with exoplanets found in the study are double stars, Mugrauer also detected twelve hierarchical triple and even quadruple star systems. A total of 15% of the stars examined have at least one companion star. Mugrauer mentions one of the key findings of his work: »This is only about half the frequency expected in general for sun­like stars within that range of separation«. Furthermore, the companion stars detected show separations about five times wider than in ordinary systems. »These two findings togeth­er could indicate that multiple stars in a solar system influ­ence the formation process of planets as well as their orbital evolution,« explains Mugrauer. This is firstly because of the gravitational interac tion of the companion stars with the gas and dust discs in which planets are formed. Their gravitation­al then interferes with the movement of the planets around their host stars.

Markus Mugrauer would like to pursue the project to examine the multiplicity of newly discovered exoplanet host stars us­ing data obtained from the Gaia mission and to precisely char­acterize the detected companion stars. »In addition, we will combine our results with those of an international observing campaign, which we are currently running on the same topic at the Paranal Observatory of the European Southern Obser­vatory in Chile,« adds the expert from Jena. »That will allow us to investigate the precise influence of the stellar multiplicity on the formation and evolution of planets.« 

By Till Bayer

Information

Original-publication: Search for stellar companions of exoplanet host stars by exploring the second ESA-Gaia data release. MNRAS (2019), DOI: 10.1093/mnras/stz2673

Contact

Markus Mugrauer, Dr
Astrophysikalisches Institut und Universitäts-Sternwarte
Phone
+49 3641 9-47514
Fax
+49 3641 9-47502
Universitätssternwarte, Room 105
Schillergäßchen 2
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Auch der uns nächstgelegene Exoplanet Proxima Centauri b befindet sich in einem Mehrfachsternsystem.

Wo mehrere Sonnen scheinen

Astrophysiker analysiert Mehrfachsternsysteme mit Exoplaneten
Auch der uns nächstgelegene Exoplanet Proxima Centauri b befindet sich in einem Mehrfachsternsystem.
Foto: ESO/M. Kornmesser

Ist unsere Erde der einzige bewohnte Planet im Universum oder gibt es weitere lebensfreundliche Orte? Und, falls ja, wie könnten sie aussehen? Um diese fundamentalen Fragen zu beantworten, suchen Wissenschaftler den Himmel nach Exoplaneten ab, die außerhalb unseres Sonnensystems um andere Sterne kreisen. Wie eine Jenaer Studie jetzt zeigt, geht in zahlreichen dieser fernen Welten die Sonne gleich mehrfach auf.

Über 4.000 Exoplaneten sind bisher bekannt. Die meisten von ihnen umkreisen Einzelsterne, so wie die Erde unsere Sonne. Der Jenaer Astrophysiker Dr. Markus Mugrauer hat jetzt zahlreiche Mehrfachsternsysteme entdeckt, bei denen Exoplaneten vorkommen. Diese Exoplaneten umkreisen also jeweils eine von gleich mehreren »Sonnen«.

Weltraumteleskop Gaia liefert präzise Daten

»Mehrfachsternsysteme kommen in unserer Milchstraße sehr häufig vor«, erklärt Dr. Markus Mugrauer. »Wenn solche Systeme Planeten besitzen, so sind sie für die Astrophysik von besonderem Interesse, weil sich die Planetensysteme darin fundamental von unserem Sonnensystem unterscheiden können.« Um mehr über diese Unterschiede zu erfahren, suchte Mugrauer mehr als 1.300 bekannte Sterne, bei denen Exoplaneten gefunden wurden, nach Begleitsternen ab. Dabei griff er auf die präzisen Beobachtungsdaten des Weltraumteleskops Gaia zurück, das von der Europäischen Weltraumagentur ESA betrieben wird. Auf diese Weise gelang es ihm, bei Planetenmuttersternen mit bis zu 1.600 Lichtjahren Abstand zur Sonne insgesamt rund 200 Begleitsterne nachzuweisen.

Mithilfe der Daten konnte Mugrauer die entdeckten Begleitsterne und ihre Systeme zudem näher beschreiben: Es existieren sowohl enge Systeme mit Abständen von nur 20 Astronomischen Einheiten (AE) — was in unserem Sonnensystem in etwa der Distanz zwischen Sonne und Uranus entspricht — als auch Systeme, deren Sterne über 9.000 AE voneinander entfernt liegen.

Unterschiedlich beschaffen sind die Begleitsterne auch hinsichtlich ihrer Massen, Temperaturen und Entwicklungsstadien. Die schwersten von ihnen haben eine rund anderthalbfache Masse unserer Sonne, die leichtesten hingegen nur knapp ein Zehntel der Sonnenmasse. Bei den meisten Begleitsternen handelt es sich um massearme, kühle und schwach rötlich leuchtende Zwergsterne.
Unter den leuchtschwachen Objekten wurden aber auch acht Weiße Zwerge identifiziert. Als Weißen Zwerg bezeichnet man den ausgebrannten Kern eines sonnenähnlichen Sterns, der zwar nur ungefähr so groß ist wie unsere Erde, dafür aber halb so schwer wie unsere Sonne. Diese Beobachtungen zeigen, dass Exoplaneten die finale Entwicklungsphase eines nahen sonnenähnlichen Sterns durchaus überleben können.

Doppel-, Dreifach- und Vierfachsternsysteme mit Exoplaneten

Bei der Mehrzahl der in der Studie nachgewiesenen Sternsysteme mit Exoplaneten handelt es sich um Doppelsterne. Mugrauer konnte aber auch zwei Dutzend hierarchische Dreifach- und sogar ein Vierfachsternsystem detektieren. Insgesamt verfügen 15 Prozent der untersuchten Sterne über mindestens einen Begleitstern. »Diese Häufigkeit ist nur etwa halb so groß, wie sie im untersuchten Abstandsbereich bei sonnenähnlichen Sternen im Allgemeinen erwartet wird«, nennt Mugrauer eine zentrale Erkenntnis seiner Arbeit. Zudem weisen die detektierten Begleitsterne einen etwa fünfmal größeren Abstand auf als gewöhnliche Systeme. »Beides zusammen könnte darauf hinweisen, dass der Einfluss mehrerer Sterne in einem Sternensystem den Entstehungsprozess von Planeten sowie die weitere Entwicklung ihrer Umlaufbahnen stört«, so Mugrauer. Ursache dafür sei zunächst die gravitative Wechselwirkung der Begleitsterne auf die Gas- und Staubscheiben, in denen Planeten entstehen. Später stören dann die Begleitsterne durch ihr Schwerefeld die Bewegung der Planeten um ihre Muttersterne herum.

Markus Mugrauer möchte das Projekt fortführen. Auch künftig sollen die sogenannte Multiplizität neu entdeckter Planetenmuttersterne mit den Daten der Gaia-Mission untersucht und detektierte Begleitsterne genau charakterisiert werden. »Zudem werden wir die Resultate mit den Ergebnissen einer internationalen Beobachtungskampagne kombinieren, die wir aktuell zum selben Thema am Paranal-Observatorium der Europäischen Südsternwarte in Chile durchführen«, ergänzt der Jenaer Experte. »Damit können wir dann den genauen Einfluss der stellaren Multiplizität auf die Entstehung und Entwicklung von Planeten untersuchen.«  

Text: Till Bayer

Information

Original-Publikation: Search for stellar companions of exoplanet host stars by exploring the second ESA-Gaia data release. MNRAS (2019), DOI: 10.1093/mnras/stz2673

Kontakt

Markus Mugrauer, Dr.
Astrophysikalisches Institut und Universitäts-Sternwarte
Telefon
+49 3641 9-47514
Fax
+49 3641 9-47502
Universitätssternwarte, Raum 105
Schillergäßchen 2
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang