New Projects

Collaborations and grants
Prof. Dr Maik Wolters, Chair of Macroeconomics at the University of Jena, is the spokesperson of the new college. Prof. Dr Maik Wolters, Chair of Macroeconomics at the University of Jena, is the spokesperson of the new college. Image: Jürgen Scheere (University of Jena)

Digital revolution

Interdisciplinary graduate college receives funding from State of Thuringia

All areas of modern life are affected by digitalization. As part of a new graduate programme, doctoral candidates are examining the impact of digitalization on economic processes. They want to investigate how digitalization is affecting different economic actors and institutions and what consequences it has for them. The new graduate programme will receive 1.35 million euros in funding from the State of Thuringia over the next three years. The spokesperson for the group, Prof. Dr Maik Wolters (pictured left), identifies one of theresearch objectives: »One aspect of the current digitalization phase is the generation of large volumes of data. We want to adapt new statistical methods for use in the social sciences, so that we can use this data in our research,« explains the Professor of Macroeconomics. [sh]

 

 

 

Neuroimmunologist Prof. Dr Christian Geis is the spokesperson of the new DFG research group SYNABS, which investigates autoimmune brain inflammation. Neuroimmunologist Prof. Dr Christian Geis is the spokesperson of the new DFG research group SYNABS, which investigates autoimmune brain inflammation. Image: Michael Szabo

Synapses under fire

DFG-funded research group investigates autoimmune encephalitis

The neurologists, physiologists, neuroimmunologists, and microscopy experts in the new »SYNABS« research group are investigating the mechanisms underlying autoimmune encephalitis in order to find new treatments for the disease. The group with partners in Germany, Austria and Spain will receive 3.9 million euros in funding from the German Research Foundation (DFG) over the next three years. The spokesperson for the group is the neuroimmunologist Prof. Dr Christian Geis (pictured right) from Jena University Hospital. Autoimmune inflammations of the brain occur when the immune system produces antibodies against receptors in the central nervous system. These antibodies interfere with the transmission of signals at the synapses, which can result in confusion, psychosis, epileptic seizures, or a loss of consciousness. [vdG]

 

 

 

Prof. Dr Silke Übelmesser, Professor of Finance at the University of Jena, is working together with a colleague from Mannheim in this new project. Prof. Dr Silke Übelmesser, Professor of Finance at the University of Jena, is working together with a colleague from Mannheim in this new project. Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)

Pension plans

Economists analyse popular opinions on pensions

Pensions are no longer safe. But how widespread is this knowledge amongst the population? Finance expert Prof. Dr Silke Übelmesser (pictured left) from the University of Jena and a colleague from the University of Mannheim address this question as part of their project. The Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs will award 290,000 euros in funding over the next three years, and the University will be making its own contribution to increase the total volume to 390,000 euros. The experts want to find out whether people understand the pension system in the first place, and if a better understanding would make them more willing to accept reforms and take the initiative. They will ask for people’s attitudes towards old-age pensions and determine whether different population groups have different opinions. This will allow them to develop recommendations for educational and social policy. [PM]

 

 

 

Synthesis reactor in a laboratory at the Center for Energy and Environmental Chemistry (CEEC) in Jena. Synthesis reactor in a laboratory at the Center for Energy and Environmental Chemistry (CEEC) in Jena. Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)

Battery research

Chemists coordinate EU training programme for energy storage research

The European Union (EU) is supporting an »International Training Network« coordinated by the Friedrich Schiller University Jena. The aim of the »POLYSTORAGE« programme, which has been allocated almost four million euros in funding, is to qualify a total of 16 doctoral candidates for leadership roles in the field of advanced energy storage (symbol photo right) in both academia and business. Funding is provided within the framework of the EU »Horizon 2020« programme. »This very comprehensive training programme combines basic research and applied science,« says Prof. Dr Ulrich S. Schubert, who coordinates the programme. It includes workshops, colloquia, and a final conference. A total of twelve funded institutions and thirteen partner institutions from research and industry are involved in the »POLYSTORAGE« programme. [MK]

 

 

 

Jena experiment in the Saale flood plain. In the biodiversity experiment funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG), artificially assembled grassland communities have been studied on an area of about 10 hectares since 2002. Jena experiment in the Saale flood plain. In the biodiversity experiment funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG), artificially assembled grassland communities have been studied on an area of about 10 hectares since 2002. Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)

Jena Experiment

DFG-funded research group investigates ecosystem functions

A new research group for the »Jena Experiment« will receive five million euros in funding from the German Research Foundation (DFG) over a period of four years. The scientists want to find out which mechanisms affect the relationship between biodiversity and ecosystem functions. A total of twelve scientific subprojects are involved in the new research group. The group is based at the German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research (iDiv) and the Universities of Leipzig and Jena. The »Jena Experiment« site in the Saale floodplain (pictured left) features around 500 research plots with different combinations of meadow plants. This unique outdoor laboratory enables the collection of long-term data to answer fundamental questions on the role of biodiversity and ecosystem functions. [PM]

 

 

 

Church historian Prof. Dr Christopher Spehr and his team are investigating discrimination against Christians in the GDR. Church historian Prof. Dr Christopher Spehr and his team are investigating discrimination against Christians in the GDR. Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)

Christians in the GDR

Church historians research the discrimination
of Christians in the GDR

Citizens in the GDR came into contact with state military policy from an early age—through military education classes and paramilitary competitions. Anyone who opposed the regime ran the risk of legal, social, occupational or educational discrimination. Christians in particular were subject to such measures if they refused to do military service. Their fate is now being examined by church historians at the University of Jena as part of a new project. The four-person project team directed by Prof. Dr Christopher Spehr (pictured right) will receive around 600,000 euros in funding from the Free State of Thuringia. The results will be made available to the public in an interactive web atlas. In addition to archive material, interviews with contemporary witnesses will be used as sources. [KB]

 

 

 

Dr. André Karliczek (left) and Dr. Andreas Christoph work with a 3D scanner to digitally capture cultural assets. Dr. André Karliczek (left) and Dr. Andreas Christoph work with a 3D scanner to digitally capture cultural assets. Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)

»cultur3D«

EU funds project for digital culture and collection management

Modern digitalization technology enables the creation of authentic three-dimensional images of historical artefacts to preserve them for future generations. Moreover, cultural assets can be digitally exploited to remove them from the shadows of closed magazines and present them to the public. Dr Andreas Christoph and his team at the University of Jena and the Thuringian State and University Library have taken on this challenge in 2017. The »cultur3D« project has now received fresh funding from the State Chancellery of Thuringia and the European Union— an additional 1.3 million euros will be invested in the project by the end of 2020. The aim is to develop workflows for optimal digitalization processes that can also be used by other institutions. Subsequently, the Jena experts want to further develop their innovative system up to series-production stage. [sh]

 

 

 

Physicians are reviewing a CT scan. Physicians are reviewing a CT scan. Image: simonkr

Medical machines

Cooperative project makes machines learn better

The Technical University of Ilmenau and the Friedrich Schiller University Jena have launched a joint project to improve the accuracy and reliability of medical measuring devices. They are developing innovative methods for the integration of »intelligence« in medical technology, such as microscopes, tomographs, and ultrasound equipment (symbol photo right). They hope to develop intelligent suggestion and decision systems to support and monitor the operation of medical technology and the evaluation of measurement results. This will help to avoid operating errors and ensure and simplify the correct analysis of measurement data. The research project will receive 1.35 million euros in funding from the State of Thuringia over five years. Prof. Dr Joachim Denzler and his team of computer scientists at the University of Jena are involved in the project. [PM]

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
Top of the page

Neue Projekte

Kooperationen und Förderungen
Prof. Dr. Maik Wolters, Lehrstuhlinhaber für Makroökonomik der Universität Jena, ist Sprecher des neuen Kollegs. Prof. Dr. Maik Wolters, Lehrstuhlinhaber für Makroökonomik der Universität Jena, ist Sprecher des neuen Kollegs. Foto: Jürgen Scheere (Universität Jena)

Digitaler Wandel

Land Thüringen fördert inter­disziplinäres Graduiertenkolleg

Von der Digitalisierung bleibt kein Lebensbereich unberührt. In einem neuen Graduiertenprogramm nehmen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden den Einfluss der Digitalisierung auf ökonomische Prozesse unter die Lupe. Sie wollen untersuchen, wie die Digitalisierung verschiedene Wirtschaftsakteure und Institutionen beeinflusst und welche Konsequenzen sich daraus für sie ergeben. Das Land Thüringen unterstützt die Graduiertenschule in den kommenden drei Jahren mit 1,35 Millionen Euro. »Ein wichtiger Aspekt der Digitalisierung ist die Generierung großer Datenmengen. Wir wollen neue statistische Methoden an sozialwissenschaftliche Forschungsfragen anpassen, um diese Daten nutzen zu können«, nennt Prof. Dr. Maik Wolters, der Sprecher des Kollegs, ein Forschungsziel. [sh]

 

 

 

Der Neuroimmunologe Prof. Dr. Christian Geis ist Sprecher der neuen DFG-Forschungsgruppe SYNABS, die Autoimmun-Gehirnentzündungen untersucht. Der Neuroimmunologe Prof. Dr. Christian Geis ist Sprecher der neuen DFG-Forschungsgruppe SYNABS, die Autoimmun-Gehirnentzündungen untersucht. Foto: Michael Szabo

Synapsen unter Beschuss

DFG-Forschungsgruppe untersucht Autoimmun-Gehirnentzündungen

In der neuen Forschungsgruppe »SYNABS« erforschen Neurologen, Physiologen, Neuroimmunologen und Mikroskopieexperten die Krankheitsmechanismen von autoimmun-bedingten Gehirnentzündungen, um neue Therapien zu finden. Die Gruppe mit Partnern in Deutschland, Österreich und Spanien wird von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) in den nächsten drei Jahren mit 3,9 Millionen Euro gefördert. Sprecher der Gruppe ist der Neuroimmunologe Prof. Dr. Christian Geis vom Universitätsklinikum Jena. Bei autoimmun-bedingten Gehirnentzündungen werden Antikörper gegen Rezeptoren im zentralen Nervensystem produziert, die die Signalübertragung an den Synapsen stören. Die Folgen sind Verwirrtheit, Psychosen, epileptische Anfälle oder Bewusstseinsstörungen. [vdG]

 

 

 

Prof. Dr. Silke Übelmesser, Professorin für Finanzwissenschaft der Universität Jena, arbeitet in dem neuen Projekt mit einer Kollegin aus Mannheim zusammen. Prof. Dr. Silke Übelmesser, Professorin für Finanzwissenschaft der Universität Jena, arbeitet in dem neuen Projekt mit einer Kollegin aus Mannheim zusammen. Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)

Altersvorsorge

Wirtschaftsexperten analysieren Haltung zur Rente

Die Rente ist nicht sicher. Doch wie weit ist diese Erkenntnis in der Bevölkerung verbreitet? Diese Frage stellt ein Forschungsprojekt, das die Jenaer Finanzwissenschaftlerin Prof. Dr. Silke Übelmesser mit einer Kollegin der Universität Mannheim bearbeitet. Das Vorhaben wird vom Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales in den nächsten drei Jahren mit rund 290.000 Euro gefördert, durch einen Eigenanteil beträgt das Gesamtvolumen rund 390.000 Euro. Die Experten wollen herausfinden, ob das System der Altersvorsorge überhaupt verstanden wird und ob bei besserem Verständnis die Akzeptanz für Reformen und die Bereitschaft für mehr Eigeninitiative steigen. Sie fragen u. a. danach, welche Haltungen zur Altersvorsorge vorliegen und ob sich diese in verschiedenen Bevölkerungsgruppen unterscheiden. Daraus sollen Empfehlungen für die Bildungs- und Sozialpolitik entwickelt werden. [PM]

 

 

 

Synthesereaktor in einem Labor am Zentrum für Energie und Umweltchemie (CEEC) in Jena. Synthesereaktor in einem Labor am Zentrum für Energie und Umweltchemie (CEEC) in Jena. Foto: Jan-Peter Kasper (Universität Jena)

Energiespeicher

EU-Ausbildungs­programm zur Batterieforschung gestartet

Die Europäische Union (EU) fördert ein von der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena koordiniertes »International Training Network«. Ziel des mit fast vier Millionen Euro geförderten Programms mit dem Titel »POLYSTORAGE« ist es, insgesamt 16 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden für Führungsrollen sowohl in der Wissenschaft als auch in der Wirtschaft auf dem Gebiet fortschrittlicher Energiespeicher zu qualifizieren. »In diesem sehr umfassenden Ausbildungsprogramm gehen Grundlagenforschung und angewandte Wissenschaft Hand in Hand«, sagt Prof. Dr. Ulrich S. Schubert, der das Programm koordiniert. Das Programm beinhaltet Workshops, Kolloquien und eine Abschlusskonferenz. Insgesamt sind an »POLYSTORAGE" zwölf begünstigte Einrichtungen sowie dreizehn Partnerinstitutionen aus Forschung und Industrie beteiligt. [MK]

 

 

 

Jena-Experiment in der Saaleaue. In dem von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderten Biodiversitätsexperiment werden seit 2002 auf rund 10 Hektar Fläche künstlich zusammengestellte Graslandschaftgesellschaften untersucht. Jena-Experiment in der Saaleaue. In dem von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderten Biodiversitätsexperiment werden seit 2002 auf rund 10 Hektar Fläche künstlich zusammengestellte Graslandschaftgesellschaften untersucht. Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)

Jena-Experiment

DFG-Forschungsgruppe untersucht Ökosystem­funktionen

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) fördert eine neue Forschungsgruppe zum »Jena-Experiment« mit fünf Millionen Euro über einen Zeitraum von vier Jahren. Die Wissenschaftler wollen herausfinden, welche Mechanismen den Zusammenhang von Biodiversität und Ökosystemfunktionen beeinflussen. Die Gruppe ist am Deutschen Zentrum für integrative Biodiversitätsforschung (iDiv) angesiedelt, sowie den Universitäten Leipzig und Jena. Das rund zehn Hektar große Areal des »Jena-Experiments« in der Saale-Aue beherbergt ca. 500 Versuchs­parzellen mit verschiedenen Kombinationen von Wiesenpflanzen. In diesem einzigartigen Freiland-Labor können Langzeitdaten gesammelt und so grundlegende Fragen zur Rolle der Artenvielfalt und zu Ökosystemfunktionen beantwortet werden. [PM]

 

 

 

Kirchenhistoriker Prof. Dr. Christopher Spehr und sein Team erforschen die Diskriminierung von Christen in der DDR. Kirchenhistoriker Prof. Dr. Christopher Spehr und sein Team erforschen die Diskriminierung von Christen in der DDR. Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)

Christen in der DDR

Kirchenhistoriker erforschen Diskriminierung von Christen in der DDR

Wehrkundeunterricht und paramilitärische Wettkämpfe - schon von Kindesbeinen an kamen die Bürgerinnen und Bürger der DDR mit der staatlichen Wehrpolitik in Kontakt. Wer sich widersetzte lief Gefahr, Diskriminierung auf rechtlicher oder sozialer, berufs- und bildungsbiographischer Ebene zu erleiden. Insbesondere Christen, die den Dienst an der Waffe verweigerten, haben solche Erfahrungen machen müssen. Ihrem Schicksal gehen Jenaer Kirchenhistoriker nun in einem neuen Projekt nach. Dafür erhält das Team um Prof. Dr. Christopher Spehr rund 600.000 Euro Fördermittel vom Land Thüringen. Die Ergebnisse sollen in einem interaktiven Web-Atlas öffentlich zugängig gemacht werden. Neben Archivmaterial werden auch Interviews mit Zeitzeugen als Quellen herangezogen. [KB]

 

 

 

Dr. André Karliczek (l.) und Dr. Andreas Christoph arbeiten mit einem 3D-Scanner um Sammlungsobjekte digital zu erfassen. Dr. André Karliczek (l.) und Dr. Andreas Christoph arbeiten mit einem 3D-Scanner um Sammlungsobjekte digital zu erfassen. Foto: Jan-Peter Kasper (Universität Jena)

Kulturgut in 3D

EU fördert digitales Kultur- und Sammlungsmanagement

Moderne Digitalisierungstechnik macht es möglich, authentische dreidimensionale Abbilder historischer Artefakte zu schaffen und diese so für die Nachwelt zu erhalten. Zudem können Kulturgüter durch die digitale Inwertsetzung aus dem Schatten verschlossener Magazine geholt und öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden. An der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena und der Thüringer Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek beschäftigt sich seit 2017 ein Team um Dr. Andreas Christoph mit dieser Herausforderung. Sein Projekt »cultur3D« wird jetzt erneut von der Thüringer Staatskanzlei und der Europäischen Union gefördert. Bis Ende 2020 fließen weitere rund 1,3 Millionen Euro in das Projekt. Ziel ist es, Workflows optimaler Digitalisierungsprozesse zu entwickeln, die auch von anderen Einrichtungen genutzt werden können. [sh]

 

 

 

Zwei Ärztinnen begutachten einen CT-Scan. Zwei Ärztinnen begutachten einen CT-Scan. Foto: simonkr

Medizintechnik

Kooperationsprojekt lässt Maschinen
besser lernen

Die Universitäten Ilmenau und Jena haben ein gemeinsames Forschungsprojekt gestartet, in dem die Sicherheit und Genauigkeit medizintechnischer Messgeräte erhöht werden soll. Dafür entwickeln sie innovative Methoden zum Einbau von »Intelligenz« in medizintechnische Geräte, wie Mikroskope, Tomographen oder Ultraschallgeräte.
Ziele des Projekts sind unter anderem intelligente Vorschlags- und Entscheidungssysteme, die die Bedienung der Medizintechnik und die Auswertung der Mess­ergebnisse unterstützen und überwachen. So sollen Bedienungsfehler vermieden und die korrekte Analyse der Messdaten sichergestellt und vereinfacht werden. Das Forschungsprojekt wird vom Bundesland Thüringen mit 1,35 Millionen Euro für fünf Jahre gefördert. Aus Jena beteiligt ist das Team um den Informatiker Prof. Dr. Joachim Denzler. [PM]

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang