Sociology student Julia Kaiser from Jena is engaged at

Brazen, cynical, ineffective

A commentary on the climate policy of the Federal Government
Sociology student Julia Kaiser from Jena is engaged at "Students for Future".
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)

A climate package was approved by the Federal Cabinet in October. The climate protection programme describes how Germany intends to meet its climate goals by 2030, and the Climate Change Bill specifies how measures are to be taken and monitored to combat global warming. Sociology student and »Students for Future« activist Julia Kaiser has studied the bill and believes the climate package will not protect the climate, but rather the profits of major corporations.

It has become common knowledge that radical changes are required in our global production practices and lifestyles if we want to stop climate change. With this in mind, I can only describe the climate package adopted by the German government as audacious and perhaps even cynical. But it does not surprise me in the slightest.

None of the sixty-plus measures contained in the climate protection programme will reduce CO2 emissions, because they fail to rein in the actual culprits: major corporations. Instead, the climate package aims to bring about changes in individual consumption habits, such as with CO2 pricing, putting the costs and responsibility for climate protection on the shoulders of the working population. But climate protection is not an individual concern; it is a political issue.

In Germany, coal-fired power plants alone produce 229.2 million tons of CO2, equating to a quarter of the country’s total CO2 emissions. However, the German government has not even decided to shut down the 20 most polluting power stations. The automotive, agricultural and chemical industries can also stick with their climatedamaging production methods. This is simply disastrous because according to the German business newspaper, »Handelsblatt«, the 30 largest DAX companies are single-handedly responsible for almost 40% of the country’s CO2 emissions. Any effective measures would have to hurt the business interests of these international corporations.

Do we have any reason to hope that our policymakers will one fine day oppose such profit interests? Like Greta Thunberg, I think it would be disastrous to expect such a thing. I believe they will continue to ignore us—just like they have spent decades ignoring thousands of scientific studies, insights, and proposals on climate change. The reason for their failure is not that they do not understand the global situation or because they do not care about future generations; they are simply playing »climate politics« without restricting major corporations through actual regulations. That is not the way to ensure effective climate protection!

If we want the 20 most polluting coal-fired power plants to be shut down as quickly as possible, if we want the public transport system to be massively expanded and made more affordable, and if we want to stop subsidizing air travel, we will have to fight for regulations that combat the pursuit of profit at the expense of people and the planet. We have to fight for a world in which this concept is no longer the structuring principle of society.

The protests held by schoolchildren and university students are an important start if we are to develop a strong movement against the prevailing politics, but activists will only succeed if they are joined by other parts of society to extend the reach of the climate movement. This is the only way to create a form of protest that could cause real economic damage—strike action. Global solutions to the climate crisis will only stand a chance if trade unions, environmental activists, and researchers work together. At »Students for Future«, we are doing our part to build this alliance.

By Julia Kaiser

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Die Jenaer Soziologie-Studentin Julia Kaiser engagiert sich bei »Students for Future«.

Dreist, zynisch, wirkungslos

Ein Kommentar zur Klimapolitik der Bundesregierung
Die Jenaer Soziologie-Studentin Julia Kaiser engagiert sich bei »Students for Future«.
Foto: Anne Günther (Universität Jena)

Das Bundeskabinett hat im Oktober ein Klimapaket verabschiedet: Das Klimaschutzprogramm beschreibt, wie Deutschland seine Klimaziele bis 2030 erreichen will. Das Klimaschutzgesetz legt fest, wie die Maßnahmen gegen die Erderwärmung umgesetzt und überwacht werden sollen. Soziologie-Studentin und »Students for Future«-Aktivistin Julia Kaiser hat das Papier studiert und sagt, das Klimapaket schütze nicht das Klima sondern den Profit der Konzerne.

Wollen wir den Klimawandel aufhalten, müssen wir die globalen Produktions- und Lebensweisen radikal ändern. Das ist inzwischen hinlänglich bekannt. In Anbetracht dieser Situation kann ich das Klimapaket der Bundesregierung nur als dreist bezeichnen, vielleicht auch als zynisch. Überrascht hat es mich jedoch nicht.

Fest steht: Die mehr als sechzig Einzelmaßnahmen des Klimaschutzprogramms werden die CO2-Emissionen nicht senken, weil sie die eigentlichen Verursacher, die großen Konzerne, nicht in die Schranken weisen. Stattdessen zielt das Klimapaket, zum Beispiel mit der CO2-Bepreisung, auf die Veränderung des individuellen Konsumverhaltens ab. Damit werden Verantwortung und Kosten für den Klimaschutz auf die arbeitende Bevölkerung abgewälzt. Doch Klimaschutz ist eine politische, keine individuelle Frage.

Alleine die Kohlekraftwerke stoßen in Deutschland 229,2 Millionen Tonnen CO2 aus: Das ist ein Viertel der gesamten CO2-Emissionen des Landes. Die Bundesregierung beschließt jedoch nicht einmal, die zwanzig Schmutzigsten sofort abzuschalten. Auch die Autoindustrie, die Agrar- und Chemiewirtschaft können an ihrer klimafeindlichen Produktion festhalten. Das ist fatal, denn laut »Handelsblatt« sind alleine die 30 größten DAX-Unternehmen für fast 40 Prozent der CO2-Emissonen in Deutschland verantwortlich. Alle Maßnahmen für einen effizienten Klimaschutz müssten die Geschäftsinteressen dieser global agierenden Konzerne verletzen.

Können wir darauf hoffen, dass sich die Entscheidungsträger und Entscheidungsträgerinnen eines schönen Tages dazu entschließen werden, sich den Profitinteressen entgegenzustellen? Wie Greta Thunberg gehe ich davon aus, dass dieses Vertrauen fatal wäre. Ich glaube vielmehr, dass sie uns weiterhin ignorieren werden, so, wie sie auch die tausenden Studien, Expertisen und Vorschläge zum Klimawandel aus der Wissenschaft seit Jahrzehnten ignorieren. Grund für dieses Versagen ist nicht, dass Politikerinnen und Politiker die Weltlage nicht verstanden hätten, oder ihnen die kommenden Generationen egal wären. Sie versuchen schlichtweg »Klimapolitik« zu machen, ohne die großen Konzerne durch Regulationen einzuschränken. Wirksamer Klimaschutz ist so jedoch nicht möglich!

Wenn wir wollen, dass die 20 schmutzigsten Kohlekraftwerke schnellstmöglich geschlossen werden, es einen massiven Ausbau und eine Vergünstigung des öffentlichen Nahverkehrs gibt, wenn wir aufhören wollen, den Flugverkehr zu subventionieren, dann müssen wir für Regulationen streiten, die der Logik des Profitstrebens auf Kosten von Mensch und Natur Grenzen setzen. Wir müssen eine Welt erkämpfen, in der diese Logik nicht mehr das strukturierende Prinzip der Gesellschaft ist.

Die Proteste von Schülerinnen, Schülern und Studierenden sind ein wichtiger Anfang für den Aufbau einer starken Bewegung gegen die herrschende Politik. Doch sie wird erst Erfolg haben, wenn sich ihr weitere Schichten der Bevölkerung anschließen und die Klimabewegung an Breite gewinnt. Nur so werden Protestformen möglich, die realen wirtschaftlichen Schaden herbeiführen könnten — Streiks. Tatsächliche, globale Lösungen für die Klimakrise haben nur eine Chance, wenn Gewerkschaftsbewegung, Klimabewegung und die Wissenschaft zusammenarbeiten. Wir als »Students for Future« tragen unseren Teil zu dieser Bündnisbildung bei.

Text: Julia Kaiser

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang