Thousands of citizens protest in Jena, undated photo from 1990.

Calendar

Jena remained quiet for a while
Thousands of citizens protest in Jena, undated photo from 1990.
Image: Peter Scheere

The Berlin Wall fell on 9 November 1989, 30 years ago. Those who were there will certainly remember the moment, which symbolizes the success of the peaceful revolution in the GDR like no other. But how was the situation at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena in autumn 1989?
We take a look back at history.

»As far as I’m aware… immediately«. Those were the clumsy words, stuttered by SED official Günter Schabowski, which brought the Berlin Wall to the ground. As the euphoria of 9 November 1989 set in, the steam began to escape from the pressure cooker known as the GDR. Yet the »revolution«—the term used by SED Secretary General, Egon Krenz—had already reached its climax by 4 November. Hundreds of thousands of people gathered on Alexanderplatz in Berlin to celebrate the speakers of the opposition and jeer the hardliners of the nomenklatura. It had been brewing in the country for quite some time—and not just in political centres like Berlin and Leipzig; resistance had also been stirring in the provinces. The courage of individuals suddenly blossomed into a mass movement. While Mikhail Gorbachev was demanding glasnost and perestroika—openness and reformation—in the Soviet Union, the GDR remained at a standstill. The USSR had become a bearer of hope, which made it all the more astonishing when »Sputnik«, the Soviet press digest, was banned in November. One year previously, SED Chief Ideologist Kurt Hager had stated that you do not have to redecorate your house just because your neighbour is renovating his own.

»Reformhaus« as the precursor of thestudent council

Things remained quiet at the University of Jena for a long time. Critical thinkers like Roland Jahn, Jürgen Fuchs, Lutz Rathenow, and Siegfried Reiprich had already been expelled in previous years. The first sign of rebellion was the Ambulancia campaign of 1988, when students raised money for an ambulance for Nicaragua without the involvement of the »Free German Youth«, the official youth organization of the GDR. This continued in autumn 1989, when the »Reformhaus«, a plenum within the university, was held by around 800 students, some employees and guests. A special edi-tion of the socialist university newspaper was even published on the theme of »courage not rage«. The »Reformhaus« led to the emergence of the student council in mid-November 1989. Rector Hans Schmigalla recognized the committee—»despite concerns«—and was open to cooperation, which led to the establishment of the student council on 23 November 1989. Gert Noack became the first chairman.

In early December, when the Berlin Wall was already history, the »Action Committee for the Democratic Rehabilitation of the University« was founded on the initiative of several lecturers led by the late Dietfried Jorke. This was followed by the reelection of the Academic Council in January 1990 and
the election of a new rector in February: While Gerhard Riege received the most votes, the jurist’s election was disputed. In April 1990, physicist Ernst Schmutzer prevailed as the 314th rector of the Alma Mater Jenensis. Under his aegis, the university made the laboured transition to a restored, democraticized institution.

By Stephan Laudien

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
Top of the page

Tausende Bürger protestieren in Jena, undatierte Aufnahme von 1990.

Kalenderblatt

30 Jahre Mauerfall:​ In Jena blieb es lange ruhig
Tausende Bürger protestieren in Jena, undatierte Aufnahme von 1990.
Foto: Peter Scheere

Am 9. November 1989 öffnete sich die Berliner Mauer. Wer diesen Tag erlebt hat, wird sich sicherlich an den Moment erinnern, der wie kein anderer den Erfolg der Friedlichen Revolution in der DDR symbolisiert. Doch wie sah die Situation im Herbst 1989 an der Universität Jena aus? Das Kalenderblatt schaut zurück.

»Nach meiner Kenntnis … ist das sofort, unverzüglich«. Diese holprig gestammelten Worte des SED-Spitzenfunktionärs Günter Schabowski brachten die Berliner Mauer zu Fall. Mit der Euphorie des 9. November 1989 entwich buchstäblich der Druck aus dem Dampfkessel namens DDR. Doch die »Wende« — den Begriff prägte SED-Generalsekretär Egon Krenz -, die Friedliche Revolution hatte ihren Höhepunkt bereits am 4. November. Hunderttausende Menschen feiern auf dem Berliner Alexanderplatz die Redner der Opposition und pfeifen die Betonköpfe der Nomenklatura aus. Es gärt schon lange im Land. Nicht nur in Zentren wie Berlin oder Leipzig, auch in der Provinz regt sich Widerstand. Plötzlich wird aus dem Mut Einzelner eine Bewegung der Massen. Während Michail Gorbatschow in der Sowjetunion Glasnost und Perestroika — Offenheit und Umgestaltung — verlangt, verharrt die DDR im Stillstand. Die UdSSR ist zum Hoffnungsträger geworden. Umso erstaunter sind die Menschen, als im November der »Sputnik«, das Digest der sowjetischen Presse verboten wird. SED-Chefideologe Kurt Hager erklärt schon ein Jahr zuvor, niemand müsse seine Wohnung neu tapezieren, bloß weil der Nachbar die seine renoviert.

»Reformhaus« war Vorläufer des StuRa

An der Universität Jena blieb es lange ruhig. Kritische Geister wurden schon in den Jahren zuvor vertrieben, etwa Roland Jahn, Jürgen Fuchs, Lutz Rathenow oder Siegfried Reiprich. Ein erstes Zeichen von Unbotmäßigkeit setzten Studenten 1988 mit der Ambulancia-Aktion: Ohne Mitwirken der FDJ (»Freie Deutsche Jugend«) sammelten sie Geld für einen Krankenwagen für Nicaragua. Im Herbst 1989 ging es weiter. Das »Reformhaus«, ein Plenum innerhalb der Universität, führte etwa 800 Studenten, einige Mitarbeiter und Gäste zusammen. Unter dem Motto »Mut statt Wut« erschien sogar ein Sonderdruck der Uni-Zeitung »Sozialistische Universität«. Aus dem »Reformhaus« entstand Mitte November 89 der Studentenrat. Rektor Hans Schmigalla erkannte das Gremium »trotz Bedenken« an und zeigte sich offen zur Zusammenarbeit. Der Studentenrat konstituierte sich am 23. November 1989; erster Vorsitzender war Gert Noack.

Anfang Dezember, die Mauer war schon Geschichte, wurde auf Initiative mehrerer Hochschullehrer um den jüngst verstorbenen Dietfried Jorke die Aktionsgemeinschaft Demokratische Erneuerung der Hochschule gegründet. Im Januar 1990 folgte die Neuwahl des Wissenschaftlichen Rates, im Februar die eines neuen Rektors: Die meisten Stimmen erhielt Gerhard Riege, doch die Wahl des Rechtswissenschaftlers wurde angefochten. Im April 1990 setzte sich der Physiker Ernst Schmutzer als 314. Rektor der Alma Mater Jenensis durch. In seine Ägide fielen die schmerzhaften Geburtswehen hin zu einer erneuerten, demokratisierten Universität.

Text: Stephan Laudien

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang