Students at the CATI laboratory interview study participants on the phone.

Behind the scenes

Phone calls for research
Students at the CATI laboratory interview study participants on the phone.
Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)

If the general election were held this Sunday, which party would you vote for? Where do you stand on the expansion of wind power? How do you invest your savings? The aim of empirical social research is to find out what people think about current affairs and how they form their opinion. But how do researchers get hold of this often extremely private information? Most of the time, they just get on the phone.


»Good evening. We’re carrying out a study. Do you have time to help?« This is how pollsters tend to start their calls to collect data, which they usually do in the evening. Telephone surveys are essential for sociologists, as they provide the basic data required for empirical social research. Over the past 15 years, the Friedrich Schiller University Jena has been running its own laboratory for computer-assisted telephone interviewing (CATI). Up to 20 student assistants can be on the blower at the same time in the two rooms, making calls in the name of research.

»Our surveys are often part of larger research projects,« explains Thomas Ritter, the head of the institution. »Our most elaborate project is definitely the Thuringia Monitor, which maps the political views of the people of Thuringia each year, and for which we conduct over a thousand interviews«.

Dialled numbers from randomly generated samples

The CATI laboratory is not only used by researchers in the field of social sciences, but also in economics and communications research. Thomas Ritter and his colleagues not only provide the infrastructure; they also give advice on the feasibility of projects. »We bridge the gap between theory and practice: I calculate the approximate expenditure and time required, and I also offer tips on the structure of surveys,« says Ritter. In addition to research projects, the telephone laboratory is also used intensively in teaching. Students often develop their own empirical research questions in seminars, designing a survey and eventually picking up the phone themselves.

Whether for a research project or seminar work, an interview always starts with a telephone number. But how do interviewers decide who to call? »They don’t,« says Thomas Ritter. Instead, researchers obtain numbers from GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences, which acts as a kind of service provider for research projects in the field of social sciences. GESIS in turn obtains the numbers from the Federal Network Agency and randomly generates samples for the interview laboratory.

»We only find out who the numbers belong to when we dial them,« says Thomas Ritter. But first they have to pick up. After all, not everyone who is called takes part in the survey. »An interviewer will typically dial around 100 numbers every five hours, which results in about five interviews, during which the preset survey is displayed on their monitor,« says Ritter. Institutions like the CATI laboratory are facing a growing problem that is making surveys significantly more difficult: »There are fewer and fewer landlines these days. Young people in particular only use mobile phones and are more difficult to contact. It also makes it harder to conduct surveys for one specific region, such as in the case of the Thuringia Monitor,« explains Ritter.

These are just some of the reasons why the CATI laboratory needs a technical revamp in the near future to make it more modern. Another essential ingredient for the laboratory’s success are the student assistants, most of whom study a subject related to social sciences and therefore know exactly what is required of them. Thomas Ritter has no worries about finding young talent. »We always welcome applications.«

By Sebastian Hollstein

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
Top of the page

Im CATI-Labor interviewen Studierende Studienteilnehmer per Telefon.

Hinter den Kulissen

Telefonieren für die Wissenschaft
Im CATI-Labor interviewen Studierende Studienteilnehmer per Telefon.
Foto: Jan-Peter Kasper (Universität Jena)

Welche Partei würden Sie wählen, wenn am Sonntag Bundestagswahl wäre? Wie stehen Sie zum Ausbau der Wind­energie? Wofür legen Sie Ihr Erspartes an? Herauszufinden, was Menschen zu aktuellen Themen denken und wie sie ihre Meinung bilden, das ist ein Ziel der empirischen Sozialforschung. Doch wie kommen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an diese oft recht privaten Informationen? Meistens rufen sie einfach an.


»Guten Abend, wir führen eine wissenschaftliche Studie durch. Hätten Sie vielleicht etwas Zeit?« So oder ähnlich beginnen die meist abendlichen Anrufe, mit denen Meinungsforscher ihre Daten erheben. Vor allem für Soziologinnen und Soziologen sind Telefonbefragungen unverzichtbar, liefern sie doch die Datengrundlage für die empirische Sozialforschung. Für das Computer-Assisted Telephone Interviewing (CATI) unterhält die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena seit 15 Jahren ein eigenes Labor. Bis zu 20 studentische Hilfskräfte hängen in den beiden Räumen gleichzeitig an der Strippe und telefonieren im Namen der Wissenschaft.

»Unsere Umfragen sind häufig Bestandteil größerer Forschungsprojekte«, erklärt der Leiter der Einrichtung, Thomas Ritter. »Das Aufwendigste ist sicherlich der Thüringen-Monitor, der jährlich die politische Einstellung der Thüringerinnen und Thüringer abbildet. Dafür führen wir über tausend Interviews

Gewählte Nummern aus zufallsgenerierten Stichproben

Neben Sozialforschern nutzen auch Kollegen aus den Wirtschaftswissenschaften und der Kommunikationsforschung das CATI-Labor. Thomas Ritter und seine Kollegen stellen dafür nicht nur die Infrastruktur zur Verfügung. Sie beraten auch bei der Durchführbarkeit der Vorhaben. »Wir sehen uns als Schnittstelle zwischen Theorie und Praxis: Einerseits kalkuliere ich beispielsweise den ungefähren Zeit- und Kostenaufwand, andererseits gebe ich Tipps zur Gestaltung der Fragebögen«, so Ritter. Neben Forschungsprojekten wird das Telefonlabor auch intensiv in der Lehre genutzt. Im Rahmen von Seminaren bearbeiten Studierende häufig selbst empirische Forschungsfragen, für die sie eine eigene Befragung konzipieren und schließlich selbst zum Hörer greifen.

Egal ob großes Forschungsvorhaben oder Seminararbeit — am Anfang eines Interviews steht immer eine Telefonnummer. Doch wie entscheiden die Interviewer, wen sie überhaupt anrufen? Thomas Ritter sagt: »Gar nicht.« Stattdessen erhalten die Forscher die Nummern vom GESIS — Leibniz-Institut für Sozialwissenschaften, das als eine Art Dienstleister für sozialwissenschaftliche Forschungsprojekte fungiert. Das GESIS erhält die Nummernblöcke wiederum von der Bundesnetzagentur und zieht daraus für die Interview-Labore zufallsgenerierte Stichproben.

»Welche konkreten Personen sich hinter den ausgewählten Nummern verbergen, wissen wir erst, wenn wir anrufen«, sagt Thomas Ritter. Doch das auch nur, wenn jemand abnimmt. Denn nicht jeder Angerufene beteiligt sich an der Befragung. »In der Regel wählt ein Interviewer etwa 100 Nummern in fünf Stunden, woraus sich etwa fünf Interviews ergeben, während der vorher programmierte Fragebogen auf dem Monitor zum Einsatz kommt«, sagt Ritter. Zunehmend sind Einrichtungen wie das CATI-Labor mit einem Problem konfrontiert, das den Aufwand der Befragungen erheblich erhöht: »Es gibt immer weniger Festnetzanschlüsse. Vor allem jüngere Menschen beschränken sich auf ein Mobiltelefon und sind schwerer zu erreichen. Außerdem ist es aufwendiger, Umfragen für eine bestimmte Region durchzuführen, wie beim Thüringen-Monitor«, erklärt Ritter.

Nicht nur deshalb braucht das CATI-Labor in nächster Zeit eine technische Generalüberholung, um moderner aufgestellt zu sein. Ein wesentlicher Faktor für den Erfolg des Labors seien zudem die studentischen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Die meisten von ihnen studieren ein sozialwissenschaftliches Fach, wissen also genau, worauf es bei ihrer Aufgabe ankommt. Nachwuchssorgen hat Thomas Ritter nicht. »Wir nehmen Bewerbungen jedoch jederzeit gern entgegen

Text: Sebastian Hollstein

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang