Prof. Dr Christian Eggeling helped develop the STED microscopy method.

Observing HIV on a live stream

Ultra-high-resolution imaging has now managed to observe the spread of human immunodeficiency viruses amongst living T helper cells in real time.
Prof. Dr Christian Eggeling helped develop the STED microscopy method.
Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)

AIDS is caused by human immunodeficiency viruses (HIV) that put immune cells— »T helper cells«—out of action. Instead of controlling other immune system cells in the defence against pathogens, infected T helper cells produce large quantities of new human immunodeficiency viruses. With the help of ultra-high-resolution imaging, an international research team including scientists from the University of Jena, has now managed to observe the spread of human immunodeficiency viruses amongst living T helper cells in real time.

The research team is using super-resolution STED fluorescence microscopy (see box on p. 55) to provide direct proof for the first time that the AIDS pathogen creates a certain lipid environment for replication. »This gives us a few starting points when it comes to investigating how to potentially prevent this reproduction,« says Prof. Dr Christian Eggeling, who conducts research and teaches at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena, the Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology, and the University of Oxford.

Together with his colleague Dr Jakub Chojnacki and a team of researchers directed by Prof. Dr Delphine Muriaux and Prof. Dr. Cyril Favard at the University of Montpellier Christian Eggeling hase been examining the plasma membrane of infected T helper cells. The researchers have been focusing on the »gate« through which the human immunodeficiency virus buds from the cell after multiplying inside. The »Gag« protein, which coordinates the processes involved in the assembly of newly produced virus particles, was used as a marker by tagging it with a green-fluorescent molecule. »Where this protein accumulates, the decisive processes take place that lead to the viruses releasing themselves and infecting other cells,« explains Christian Eggeling. In order to decifer these processes, the researchers examined the diffusion of the lipid molecules to and at the place where the »Gag« proteins gather, i.e. where the virus particle buds. During the budding process, the virus particles exit the cell through the plasma membrane and receive their lipid coating. By employing different types of red-fluorescent labeled lipids, Eggeling and his colleagues have now discovered that only certain lipids from the cell membrane interact with the human immunodeficiency virus. Although these lipids were already known, the research team has managed to directly observe this interaction in living cells for the first time.

STED microscopy enables super-resolution imaging. Here we can see the cellular components of fibroblast cells: mitochondria (green) and the peroxisomal protein PEX5 (red) on the surface of perixomes measuring approx. 200 nanometres (blue), which cannot be resolved with conventional confocal fluorescence microscopy. The white bar is five micrometres long (five thousandths of a millimetre). Adapted from »The Journal of Biological Chemistry« 291, 16948-16962, 2016. STED microscopy enables super-resolution imaging. Here we can see the cellular components of fibroblast cells: mitochondria (green) and the peroxisomal protein PEX5 (red) on the surface of perixomes measuring approx. 200 nanometres (blue), which cannot be resolved with conventional confocal fluorescence microscopy. The white bar is five micrometres long (five thousandths of a millimetre). Adapted from »The Journal of Biological Chemistry« 291, 16948-16962, 2016. Image: Christian Eggeling

»This providesus with a potential target for antiviral drugs,« says Christian Eggeling. »Knowing which molecules the human immunodeficiency virus needs to exitthe cell and multiply is a crucial prerequisite for investigating how this can be prevented. Our technology enables us to follow the developments directly in real time«. Eggeling is now working with his team on the development of antibodies to attack precisely these molecules— and thus suppress the spread of the virus.

Tracking the movement of molecules in real time

»We not only want to examine these antibodies from a medical perspective, but also to find out how their biophysical interaction can be exploited to make them more effective,« states Eggeling. He is trying to understand how diseases develop on a molecular level by combining superresolution fluorescence microscopy with technology that tracks the movement of marked molecules in real time. This enables the spatial and temporal examination of individual molecules in living cells. »We can now reveal cellular mechanisms on a molecular level; these mechanisms were much too fast and occurred over far too small spatial scales for previous methods of investigation.«

By Lavinia Meier-Ewert

 

STED stands for »stimulated emission depletion«. It is a method used in fluorescence microscopy that allows the optical resolution limit described by Ernst Abbe to be bypassed. Light is used to excite fluorescent dyes, which then spontaneously emit light. This spontaneous emission can be suppressed with the addition of high-intensity light at the wavelength range of the emission. This de-excitation light is placed in a ring around the focus of the sample to be examined, restricting the emission of fluorescent light to the centre of the sample. This optical trick makes the effective focal point significantly smaller, and its dimensions are below the Abbe diffraction limit.
Information

Original-Publikation: HIV-1 Gag specifically restricts PI(4,5)P2 and cholesterol mobility in living cells creating a nanodomain platform for virus assembly. Science Advances (2019), DOI: 10.1126/sciadv.aaw8651

Contact:

Christian Eggeling, Univ.-Prof. Dr
Room E005
Helmholtzweg 4
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Prof. Dr. Christian Eggeling hat das STED-Mikroskopieverfahren mitentwickelt.

HI-Viren im Livestream

Hochauflösendes Mikroskopieverfahren macht es möglich, Viren in Echtzeit zu beobachten.
Prof. Dr. Christian Eggeling hat das STED-Mikroskopieverfahren mitentwickelt.
Foto: Jan-Peter Kasper (Universität Jena)

Die Immunschwäche AIDS wird von HI-Viren verursacht, die Immunzellen - die sogenannten T-Helferzellen — außer Gefecht setzen. Statt andere Zellen des Immunsystems bei der Abwehr von Krankheitserregern zu steuern, produzieren infizierte T-Helferzellen neue HI-Viren in großer Menge. Einem internationalen Forschungsteam mit Jenaer Beteiligung ist es jetzt mithilfe höchstauflösender Bildgebung gelungen, in Echtzeit zu beobachten, wie sich HI-Viren zwischen lebenden T-Helferzellen verbreiten.

Mit der superauflösenden STED-Fluoreszenzmikroskopie (siehe Kasten unten) liefert das Forschungsteam einen direkten Beweis dafür, dass der AIDS-Erreger zum Vervielfältigen ein bestimmtes Lipidmilieu schafft. »Das liefert uns Anhaltspunkte zu erforschen, wie sich diese Vermehrung potenziell verhindern lässt«, sagt Prof. Dr. Christian Eggeling, der an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, dem Leibniz-Institut für Photonische Technologien und der Universität Oxford forscht und lehrt.

Gemeinsam mit einem Team um Prof. Dr. Delphine Muriaux und Prof. Dr. Cyril Favard von der Université Montpellier und seinem Kollegen Dr. Jakub Chojnacki hat Christian Eggeling die Plasmamembran infizierter T-Helfer-Zellen untersucht. In den Fokus nahmen die Forschenden dabei die »Schleuse«, durch die das HI-Virus (Human Immunodeficiency Virus) aus der Zelle heraustritt, nachdem es sich darin vermehrt hat. Als Marker diente ihnen dabei das Protein »Gag«, das die Vorgänge beim Zusammenbau der neu produzierten Viruspartikel koordiniert. »Dort, wo sich dieses Protein sammelt, laufen die entscheidenden Prozesse ab, die dazu führen, dass die Viren sich freisetzen und weitere Zellen infizieren«, erläutert Christian Eggeling. Um diese Prozesse zu entschlüsseln, haben sich die Forschenden die Diffusion des »Gag«-Proteins an den Ort der Knospung - des »budding« - des Viruspartikels angesehen. Während des »budding« treten die Viruspartikel durch die Plasmamembran aus der Zelle und erhalten dabei ihre Lipidhülle. Wie Eggeling und seine Kollegen nun herausgefunden haben, wechselwirken nur ganz bestimmte Lipide aus der Zellmembran mit dem HI-Virus. Zwar waren diese Lipide prinzipiell schon vorher bekannt, aber das Forschungsteam konnte diese Wechselwirkung nun erstmals direkt in lebenden Zellen beobachten.

STED-Mikroskopie-Aufnahme von Fibroblastenzellen. Der weiße Balken ist fünf Mikrometer lang. STED-Mikroskopie-Aufnahme von Fibroblastenzellen. Der weiße Balken ist fünf Mikrometer lang. Foto: Christian Eggeling

»Damit haben wir einen potenziellen Angriffspunkt, an dem antivirale Medikamente ansetzen könnten«, so Christian Eggeling. »Zu wissen, welche Moleküle das HI-Virus braucht, um aus der Zelle herauszutreten und sich zu vervielfältigen, ist eine entscheidende Voraussetzung, um zu erforschen, wie sich dies verhindern lässt. Mit unserer Technik können wir das jetzt direkt und live verfolgen.« Mit seinem Team will Eggeling nun Antikörper entwickeln, die genau diese Moleküle angreifen - und so die Verbreitung des Virus unterdrücken.

Bewegung von Molekülen
in Echtzeit verfolgen

»Wir wollen diese Antikörper nicht nur in medizinischer Hinsicht untersuchen, sondern herausfinden, wie man ihre biophysikalische Wechselwirkung nutzen kann, um ihre Wirksamkeit zu verstärken«, kündigt Eggeling an. Um auf molekularer Ebene zu verstehen, wie Krankheiten entstehen, kombiniert Eggeling superauflösende Fluoreszenzmikroskopie-Techniken mit Methoden, die die Bewegung markierter Moleküle in Echtzeit verfolgen. So lassen sich einzelne Moleküle in lebenden Zellen räumlich und zeitlich untersuchen. »Das ermöglicht es uns, zelluläre Mechanismen auf molekularer Ebene zu enthüllen, die für bisherige Untersuchungsmethoden viel zu schnell sind und auf viel zu kleinen räumlichen Skalen ablaufen

Text: Lavinia Meier-Ewert

 

STED steht für »Stimulated Emission Depletion« und ist ein fluoreszenzmikroskopisches Verfahren, mit dem die von Ernst Abbe beschriebene optische Auflösungsgrenze unterschritten werden kann. Bei dem Verfahren werden Fluoreszenz-Farbstoffe durch Licht angeregt, die anschließend spontan Licht in einem energieärmeren Wellenlängenbereich abstrahlen. Diese spontane Abstrahlung lässt sich unterdrücken, wenn intensives Licht dieser energieärmeren Wellenlänge zusätzlich eingestrahlt wird. Das Abregungslicht wird ringförmig um den Fokus der zu untersuchenden Probe gelegt, wodurch sich die Emission von Fluoreszenzlicht auf den zentralen Bereich der Probe beschränkt. Dieser effektive Fokuspunkt ist durch diesen optischen Trick erheblich verkleinert und seine Ausdehnung liegt unterhalb der Abbeschen Beugungsgrenze.
Information

Original-Publikation: HIV-1 Gag specifically restricts PI(4,5)P2 and cholesterol mobility in living cells creating a nanodomain platform for virus assembly. Science Advances (2019), DOI: 10.1126/sciadv.aaw8651

Kontakt:

Christian Eggeling, Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Raum E005
Helmholtzweg 4
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
Zurück zum Seitenanfang