Ocean. Life threatening manoeuvres under its surface - at least for diatoms.

Hostile takeover in the ocean

A team of researchers from Jena and Frankfurt/Main resolves how egg fungis attack algaes.​
Ocean. Life threatening manoeuvres under its surface - at least for diatoms.
Image: Pixabay

Oomycetes, also known as egg fungi, are known to cause serious diseases in plants and animals. They also affect algae, which tend to succumb to the infection. A team of researchers from Jena and Frankfurt/Main have managed to shed light on the biochemical fungal attack and how exactly the fungi kill the algae.


Whenever the sea suddenly turns blood­red or lights up in bright shades of green or brown, the cause is usual­ly algae. We can often observe a mass proliferation of algae in the oceans, but such algal blooms attract other organ­isms that stop the growth of algae and sometimes even bring about the end of an entire algae population. The exact details of this process were previously u nclear.

Algal metabolism attacked and reprogrammed by fungus

In a collaborative study conducted by researchers at the Max Planck Insti­tute for Chemical Ecology in Jena, the Friedrich Schiller University, and the Goethe University in Frankfurt/Main, the underlying mechanisms of algal death have been investigated. They have shown that a pathogenic fungus alters the metabolism of its host uni­cellular alga and changes it for its own purposes. It makes the algae produce bioactive substances that benefit its own propagation, while preventing algal proliferation. Ultimately, the algae are killed and parasites can thus contribute to the termination of the bloom.

For the study, the team established a laboratory system, in which a marine diatom was infected by the pathogenic oomycete Lagenisma coscinodisci under controlled conditions. This parasite is known to in­fest unicellular algae and prevent them from proliferating.The researchers examined the metab­olism of the algae during the infection process. They found that all infected algae began to generate two chemical substances that they do not normally produce: »carbolines« from the class of substances known as alkaloids, which also include nicotine and caffeine. »We were surprised by the presence of these carbolines. Their formation was com­pletely unknown in diatoms, but they were formed by all algal cells during the oomycete infestation,« explains Ma­rine Vallet, one of the two main authors of the new study. Interestingly, both of these substances only benefited the oomycete; they damaged the algae and ultimately killed it.

This study was challenging because the parasites usually kill their host in a very short time and the substances are produced in very low amount in the small cells. The other main author, Tim Baumeister, describes some of the chal­lenges that had to be overcome at the beginning of the project: »Oomycetes are known to take various forms: They are often only found as tiny spores in their host, and they sometimes do no harm at all and simply ›sleep‹ in their host. At other occasions they can cause massive killing of the algae. These processes re­sult in a highly dynamic fluctuation of dominant species in the ocean«. 

Active chemical compounds identified

Using high­resolution spectrometric methods combined with microscopic techniques, the scientists were able to identify the active chemical compounds produced by a single algal cell. »One has to bear in mind that a single cell is 30 times smaller than a pinhead and that the concentration of all substances is very low. Shedding light on the chem­istry occurring in a single cell is a major technical achievement,« explains Georg Pohnert. The professor of Instrumental Analytics at the University of Jena di­rects the Max Planck Fellow Group »In­teraction in Plankton Communities«.

The scientists would now like to con­duct further studies to find out how the diatoms are able to defend themselves against this pathogenic fungal attack, because they are aware that not all dia­tom species are equally susceptible to hostile infestation by parasitic oomycet­es. However, diatoms and their various interactions with their environment continue to present researchers with numerous questions. »The sea is a treas­ure that needs to be protected. There are still many fantastic discoveries to be made,« concludes Marine Vallet.

By Angela Overmeyer

 

Healthy diatom (left) and infected  diatom (right): The parasitic oomycete  Lagenisma coscinodisci sucks all nutrients from the infected cell and manipulates the algal metabolism to form its own form of reproduction—a sporangium. Healthy diatom (left) and infected diatom (right): The parasitic oomycete Lagenisma coscinodisci sucks all nutrients from the infected cell and manipulates the algal metabolism to form its own form of reproduction—a sporangium. Image: Marine Vallet
Information

Original-publication: The oomycete Lagenisma coscinodisci hijacks host alkaloid synthesis during infection of a marine diatom. Nature Communications (2019). DOI: 10.1038/s41467-019-12908-w

Contact:

Marine Vallet, Dr
Phone
+49 3641 9-48170
Lessingstraße 8
07743 Jena
Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page

Ozean. Unter der Oberfläche ereignen sich lebensbedrohliche Vorgänge - zumindest...

Feindliche Übernahme im Ozean

Forschungsteam aus Jena und Frankfurt/M. klärt auf, wie Eipilze Kieselalgen zur Strecke bringen.​
Ozean. Unter der Oberfläche ereignen sich lebensbedrohliche Vorgänge - zumindest...
Foto: Pixabay

Eipilze, auch Oomyceten genannt, sind Erreger gefährlicher Krankheiten für Pflanzen und Tiere. Auch Algen werden von ihnen befallen und meistens überleben sie diese Infektion nicht. Wie die Pilze die Algen jedoch genau zur Strecke bringen, war bislang wenig untersucht. Einem Forschungsteam aus Jena und Frankfurt/M. ist es jetzt gelungen, den biochemischen Überfall des Pilzes aufzuklären.

Wenn sich das Meer plötzlich blutrot färbt oder in grellen Grün- oder Türkis­tönen leuchtet, sind meistens Algen die Ursache. Immer wieder kann es in Ozeanen zu einer Massenvermehrung von Algen kommen. Die Algenblüte lockt andere Organismen an, die wiederum das Algenwachstum stoppen - manchmal sogar das Ende der gesamten Algenpopulation herbeiführen. Wie das im Einzelnen passiert, war bislang ungeklärt.

Pilz greift in den Stoffwechsel der Algen ein und programmiert ihn um

Forscherinnen und Forscher des Jenaer Max-Planck-Instituts für chemische Ökologie, der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität und der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/M. sind deshalb in einer gemeinsamen Studie den zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen des Absterbens der Algen nachgegangen. Sie konnten zeigen, dass ein krankheitserregender Pilz in den Stoffwechsel der einzelligen Algen eingreift und diesen für seine eigenen Zwecke verändert. Er lässt die Algen bioaktive Stoffe produzieren, die der Pilz für seine eigene Ausbreitung nutzt, während sie die Vermehrung der Algen verhindern und der Algenteppich schließlich schrumpft und stirbt.

Für seine Studie hat das Team im Labor ein System etabliert, bei dem der krankheitserregende Eipilz Lagenisma coscinodisci unter kontrollierten Bedingungen eine marine Kieselalge infiziert. Dieser Parasit ist bekannt dafür, dass er einzellige Meeresalgen befällt und ihre weitere Vermehrung verhindert. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher haben den Stoffwechsel der Algen während des Infektionsprozesses unter die Lupe genommen. Dabei stellten sie fest, dass alle infizierten Algen begannen, zwei chemische Substanzen zu produzieren, die sie normalerweise nicht herstellen: sogenannte Carboline, aus der Substanzklasse der Alkaloide, zu denen auch Nikotin und Koffein gehören. »Die Anwesenheit dieser Carboline hat uns überrascht. Ihre Bildung war bei Kieselalgen völlig unbekannt, sie wurden aber während des Befalls mit dem Eipilz von allen Algenzellen gebildet«, erläutert Marine Vallet, eine der beiden Hauptautorinnen der neuen Studie. Interessanterweise nutzten diese beiden Substanzen nur dem Eipilz, schadeten jedoch der Alge und töteten sie letztlich ab.

Für ihre Untersuchungen blieb den Forschenden nicht viel Zeit, denn die Schaderreger töten ihren Wirt innerhalb von nur wenigen Stunden. »Eipilze sind dafür bekannt, dass sie verschiedene Formen annehmen können: Oft sind sie nur als winzige Sporen in ihrem Wirt zu finden. Manchmal fügen sie gar keinen Schaden zu und ›schlafen‹ in ihrem Wirt. Andererseits können sie aber auch ein Massensterben der Zellen auslösen. Diese Prozesse führen zu einer starken Schwankung von dominanten Arten im Ozean«, beschreibt Tim Baumeister, weiterer Hauptautor, die Herausforderungen, die es zu Beginn der Arbeit zu meistern galt.

Die aktiven chemischen Verbindungen identifiziert

Mit Hilfe von hochauflösenden spektrometrischen Methoden kombiniert mit mikroskopischen Techniken gelang es den Wissenschaftlern schließlich, die aktiven chemischen Verbindungen zu identifizieren, die eine einzelne Algenzelle produziert. »Dabei muss man sich vor Augen führen, dass eine einzelne Zelle 30-mal kleiner als ein Stecknadelkopf ist und verglichen mit der Menge an Meerwasser nur ganz geringe Konzentrationen aller Stoffe vorliegen. Die Chemie in einer einzelnen Zelle aufzuklären, ist eine große technische Errungenschaft«, führt Georg Pohnert aus. Der Professor für Instrumentelle Analytik der Universität Jena leitet die Max-Planck-Fellow-Gruppe »Interaktion in Plankton-Gemeinschaften«.

In weiteren Studien möchten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler jetzt herausfinden, wie sich die Kieselalgen gegenüber einem Angriff dieser Erreger wehren können, denn es ist bekannt, dass nicht alle Kieselalgenarten gleichermaßen anfällig für die feindliche Übernahme durch die Eipilz-Parasiten sind. Vielmehr stellen die Kie­sel­algen und ihre vielfältigen Wech­sel­wirkungen mit ihrer Umwelt den Forschenden noch zahlreiche Fragen. »Das Meer ist ein Schatz, den man schützen muss. Es gibt noch viele fantastische Entdeckungen, die uns dort erwarten«, schließt Marine Vallet.

Text: Angela Overmeyer

 

Gesunde (links) und mit dem Eipilz Lagenisma coscinodisci infizierte (rechts) Kieselalge. Gesunde (links) und mit dem Eipilz Lagenisma coscinodisci infizierte (rechts) Kieselalge. Foto: Marine Vallet
Information

Original-Publikation: The oomycete Lagenisma coscinodisci hijacks host alkaloid synthesis during infection of a marine diatom. Nature Communications (2019). DOI: 10.1038/s41467-019-12908-w

Kontakt:

Marine Vallet, Dr.
Telefon
+49 3641 9-48170
Lessingstraße 8
07743 Jena
Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
  • Qualitätssiegel der Stiftung Akkreditierungsrat - System akkreditiert
Zurück zum Seitenanfang